Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Borzoi: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Borzoi" · single-breed animals only

136reports, 1987–20250% of dog reports
9reports, 12 months to March 20267 in the 12 months before
35.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14%name carprofenall dogs: 4.8%

FDA's database holds 136 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Borzoi", shown here as Borzoi: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

9 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 29% from 7 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are carprofen, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and milbemycin oxime. Carprofen is named in 14% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (4.8%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (24.3%), diarrhoea (9.6%) and accidental exposure (8.8%). Vomiting appears in 24.3% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 35.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Borzoi reportsShare of all dog reports
Carprofen1914%4.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1410.3%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime139.6%3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad107.4%13.1%
Fluralaner96.6%6.7%
Afoxolaner75.1%5.7%
Deracoxib75.1%1.1%
Spinosad64.4%5.8%
Selamectin53.7%3%
Bedinvetmab42.9%1.9%
Etodolac42.9%0.2%
Lotilaner42.9%1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel42.9%3.1%
Ivermectin32.2%1.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime32.2%2.7%
Oxibendazole32.2%0.1%
Amoxicillin21.5%0.3%
Benazepril21.5%0%
Firocoxib21.5%0.8%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin21.5%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Borzoi reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting24.3%33
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.6%13
  3. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]8.8%12
  4. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]7.4%10
  5. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.4%10
  6. Anorexia[not eating]6.6%9
  7. Death6.6%9
  8. Emesis[vomiting]5.9%8
  9. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]5.1%7
  10. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]5.1%7
  11. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]5.1%7
  12. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]4.4%6
  13. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]4.4%6
  14. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]4.4%6
  15. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.4%6
  16. Fever3.7%5
  17. Thrombocytopenia[low platelet count]3.7%5
  18. Elevated liver enzymes[liver enzymes above the normal range]2.9%4
  19. Elevated total bilirubin[bilirubin above the normal range]2.9%4
  20. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.9%4
  21. Melaena[dark, tarry stool containing digested blood]2.9%4
  22. No sign[no clinical sign was reported]2.9%4
  23. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.9%4
  24. Azotaemia[raised kidney values in blood]2.2%3

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.1%11
1 to 3 years34.6%47
4 to 7 years23.5%32
8 to 11 years18.4%25
12 years and over7.4%10
Age not given8.1%11

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0.7%1
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)8.8%12
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)64%87
45 kg and over (99 lb+)16.2%22
Weight not given10.3%14

Coloured bar: Borzoi reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 1May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 3Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal19.1%26
Recovered with Sequela0.7%1
Ongoing10.3%14
Died10.3%14
Euthanized0.7%1
Outcome Unknown17.6%24

Beside all dogs

MeasureBorzoiAll dogs
Reports136985,675
Latest 12 months953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it35.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports110.355

Questions about Borzoi reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Borzois?

136 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 9 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Borzoi reports?

By active ingredient: carprofen (19), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (14), milbemycin oxime (13), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (10) and fluralaner (9). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (24.3%), diarrhoea (9.6%), accidental exposure (8.8%), depression (7.4%) and lethargy (7.4%).

Is the Borzoi more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Borzoi animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Borzoi" becomes "Borzoi"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.