Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Boston Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Boston" · single-breed animals only

8,505reports, 1987–20260.9% of dog reports
367reports, 12 months to March 2026358 in the 12 months before
40.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
16.3%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 8,505 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier - Boston", shown here as Boston Terrier: 0.9% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

367 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 358 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and spinosad. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 16.3% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.3%), emesis (9%) and lethargy (8.4%). Vomiting appears in 21.3% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Boston Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1,38616.3%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1,06312.5%14.9%
Spinosad5696.7%5.8%
Trilostane4955.8%1.2%
Moxidectin4915.8%5%
Fluralaner4785.6%6.7%
Oclacitinib3674.3%2.9%
Afoxolaner3404%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner3193.8%5.1%
Cyclosporine2513%1.5%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime2462.9%2.7%
Carprofen2442.9%4.8%
Selamectin2412.8%3%
Milbemycin Oxime2322.7%3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1952.3%3.1%
Maropitant1311.5%1.2%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1281.5%2.3%
Sarolaner1221.4%1.7%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin1151.4%1.3%
Ivermectin1061.2%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Boston Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.3%1,809
  2. Emesis[vomiting]9%765
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.4%717
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.7%657
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.5%464
  6. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]5%427
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.5%383
  8. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.2%357
  9. Anorexia[not eating]4%343
  10. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.7%317
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.4%292
  12. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.1%260
  13. Death2.6%223
  14. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.6%220
  15. Hives2.5%213
  16. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.4%207
  17. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.4%204
  18. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.4%200
  19. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.3%196
  20. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.2%188
  21. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.1%176
  22. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2%173
  23. Pruritus[itching]2%169

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year11.1%946
1 to 3 years27.7%2,356
4 to 7 years25.8%2,196
8 to 11 years23.3%1,979
12 years and over9.3%787
Age not given2.8%241

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)4.9%420
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)47.6%4,050
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)43.6%3,707
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.1%10
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%1
Weight not given3.7%317

Coloured bar: Boston Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02549Apr 2021: 30May 2021: 37Jun 2021: 24Jul 2021: 36Aug 2021: 33Sep 2021: 29Oct 2021: 40Nov 2021: 31Dec 2021: 19Jan 2022: 182022Feb 2022: 27Mar 2022: 35Apr 2022: 33May 2022: 33Jun 2022: 20Jul 2022: 29Aug 2022: 49Sep 2022: 22Oct 2022: 21Nov 2022: 18Dec 2022: 25Jan 2023: 252023Feb 2023: 22Mar 2023: 19Apr 2023: 32May 2023: 43Jun 2023: 24Jul 2023: 34Aug 2023: 39Sep 2023: 28Oct 2023: 35Nov 2023: 31Dec 2023: 23Jan 2024: 262024Feb 2024: 31Mar 2024: 30Apr 2024: 30May 2024: 48Jun 2024: 34Jul 2024: 28Aug 2024: 26Sep 2024: 29Oct 2024: 34Nov 2024: 29Dec 2024: 23Jan 2025: 212025Feb 2025: 34Mar 2025: 22Apr 2025: 32May 2025: 31Jun 2025: 27Jul 2025: 26Aug 2025: 34Sep 2025: 40Oct 2025: 28Nov 2025: 22Dec 2025: 35Jan 2026: 372026Feb 2026: 38Mar 2026: 17

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal28.5%2,423
Recovered with Sequela2.9%248
Ongoing18.4%1,561
Died3.4%289
Euthanized1.8%151
Outcome Unknown23.5%1,997

Beside all dogs

MeasureBoston TerrierAll dogs
Reports8,505985,675
Latest 12 months36753,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports51.755

Questions about Boston Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Boston Terriers?

8,505 reports through March 2026, 0.9% of reports about dogs; 367 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Boston Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (1,386), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (1,063), spinosad (569), trilostane (495) and moxidectin (491). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.3%), emesis (9%), lethargy (8.4%), diarrhoea (7.7%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (5.5%).

Is the Boston Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Boston Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Boston" becomes "Boston Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.