Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Border Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Border" · single-breed animals only

369reports, 1987–20260% of dog reports
25reports, 12 months to March 202616 in the 12 months before
37.4%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13.3%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

369 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Border Terrier (FDA breed label "Terrier - Border"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

25 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 56% from 16 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and afoxolaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 13.3% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (27.1%), diarrhoea (10%) and emesis (9.5%). Vomiting appears in 27.1% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 37.4% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Border Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad4913.3%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate4411.9%14.9%
Afoxolaner328.7%5.7%
Trilostane236.2%1.2%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner205.4%5.1%
Spinosad205.4%5.8%
Fluralaner184.9%6.7%
Carprofen174.6%4.8%
Cyclosporine133.5%1.5%
Milbemycin Oxime113%3%
Ivermectin102.7%1.3%
Oclacitinib102.7%2.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime92.4%2.7%
Moxidectin92.4%5%
Bedinvetmab82.2%1.9%
Sarolaner82.2%1.7%
Selamectin82.2%3%
Selegiline Hydrochloride82.2%0.4%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel71.9%3.1%
Firocoxib61.6%0.8%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Border Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting27.1%100
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]10%37
  3. Emesis[vomiting]9.5%35
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.9%33
  5. Anorexia[not eating]6.8%25
  6. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4.9%18
  7. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.3%16
  8. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.8%14
  9. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3.8%14
  10. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.8%14
  11. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]3.8%14
  12. Shaking3.8%14
  13. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.5%13
  14. Polyuria[passing more urine than usual]3.5%13
  15. Trembling3.5%13
  16. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]3.3%12
  17. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3%11
  18. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.7%10
  19. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.4%9
  20. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.4%9
  21. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.4%9
  22. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]2.4%9
  23. Hyperglycaemia[high blood sugar]2.2%8
  24. Panting2.2%8

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year7.3%27
1 to 3 years25.7%95
4 to 7 years24.7%91
8 to 11 years22.8%84
12 years and over17.3%64
Age not given2.2%8

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)3%11
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)67.2%248
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)25.5%94
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.8%3
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.3%1
Weight not given3.3%12

Coloured bar: Border Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

035Apr 2021: 3May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 2Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 5Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 12024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 3Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal28.7%106
Recovered with Sequela1.4%5
Ongoing17.3%64
Died3%11
Euthanized0.8%3
Outcome Unknown25.7%95

Beside all dogs

MeasureBorder TerrierAll dogs
Reports369985,675
Latest 12 months2553,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.4%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports37.955

Questions about Border Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Border Terriers?

369 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 25 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Border Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (49), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (44), afoxolaner (32), trilostane (23) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (20). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (27.1%), diarrhoea (10%), emesis (9.5%), lethargy (8.9%) and anorexia (6.8%).

Is the Border Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Border Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Border" becomes "Border Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.