Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Border Collie: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Collie - Border" · single-breed animals only

8,154reports, 1987–20260.8% of dog reports
381reports, 12 months to March 2026416 in the 12 months before
40.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.6%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 8,154 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Collie - Border", shown here as Border Collie: 0.8% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

381 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 416 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and fluralaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 17.6% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (15.3%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (10.9%) and diarrhoea (7.8%). Vomiting appears in 15.3% of reports, a smaller share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Border Collie reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1,43517.6%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad85710.5%13.1%
Fluralaner5646.9%6.7%
Afoxolaner5356.6%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner3974.9%5.1%
Moxidectin3944.8%5%
Milbemycin Oxime3814.7%3%
Carprofen3674.5%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel3574.4%3.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime3444.2%2.7%
Selamectin2923.6%3%
Bedinvetmab2312.8%1.9%
Spinosad2282.8%5.8%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1832.2%2.3%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin1491.8%1.3%
Sarolaner1341.6%1.7%
Ivermectin1271.6%1.3%
Oclacitinib1131.4%2.9%
Deracoxib1051.3%1.1%
Grapiprant1041.3%0.8%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Border Collie reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting15.3%1,244
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]10.9%888
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.8%632
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.7%544
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]6.3%511
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]6.1%498
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.2%428
  8. Anorexia[not eating]4.4%357
  9. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.9%322
  10. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.9%314
  11. Emesis[vomiting]3.8%310
  12. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.5%284
  13. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.1%255
  14. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]3%244
  15. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.6%216
  16. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.6%211
  17. Death2.4%195
  18. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.4%192
  19. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.2%180
  20. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.1%172
  21. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.1%168
  22. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2%162
  23. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]1.9%154
  24. Pruritus[itching]1.8%145
  25. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]1.8%144

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year10.2%833
1 to 3 years28.1%2,294
4 to 7 years24.9%2,032
8 to 11 years19.9%1,623
12 years and over13.8%1,125
Age not given3%247

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.4%114
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.5%206
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)68.9%5,619
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)22.5%1,835
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.3%23
Weight not given4.4%357

Coloured bar: Border Collie reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02652Apr 2021: 31May 2021: 41Jun 2021: 33Jul 2021: 35Aug 2021: 32Sep 2021: 26Oct 2021: 31Nov 2021: 27Dec 2021: 21Jan 2022: 192022Feb 2022: 20Mar 2022: 33Apr 2022: 31May 2022: 35Jun 2022: 31Jul 2022: 23Aug 2022: 41Sep 2022: 33Oct 2022: 25Nov 2022: 20Dec 2022: 22Jan 2023: 332023Feb 2023: 23Mar 2023: 33Apr 2023: 28May 2023: 41Jun 2023: 26Jul 2023: 24Aug 2023: 35Sep 2023: 23Oct 2023: 29Nov 2023: 35Dec 2023: 42Jan 2024: 522024Feb 2024: 46Mar 2024: 37Apr 2024: 38May 2024: 45Jun 2024: 32Jul 2024: 36Aug 2024: 44Sep 2024: 32Oct 2024: 40Nov 2024: 29Dec 2024: 27Jan 2025: 392025Feb 2025: 30Mar 2025: 24Apr 2025: 48May 2025: 43Jun 2025: 36Jul 2025: 40Aug 2025: 24Sep 2025: 24Oct 2025: 38Nov 2025: 29Dec 2025: 38Jan 2026: 192026Feb 2026: 27Mar 2026: 15

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal20.6%1,679
Recovered with Sequela3.6%296
Ongoing20.1%1,642
Died3.6%292
Euthanized1.7%137
Outcome Unknown27.7%2,256

Beside all dogs

MeasureBorder CollieAll dogs
Reports8,154985,675
Latest 12 months38153,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports52.655

Questions about Border Collie reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Border Collies?

8,154 reports through March 2026, 0.8% of reports about dogs; 381 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Border Collie reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (1,435), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (857), fluralaner (564), afoxolaner (535) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (397). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (15.3%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (10.9%), diarrhoea (7.8%), lethargy (6.7%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (6.3%).

Is the Border Collie more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Border Collie animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Collie - Border" becomes "Border Collie"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.