Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Pekingese: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Pekingese" · single-breed animals only

2,517reports, 1987–20260.3% of dog reports
43reports, 12 months to March 202663 in the 12 months before
35%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
16.4%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 2,517 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Pekingese", shown here as Pekingese: 0.3% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

43 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 32% from 63 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 16.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (24.5%), emesis (10.7%) and lethargy (8.7%). Vomiting appears in 24.5% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 35% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Pekingese reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad41316.4%13.1%
Spinosad34813.8%5.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1606.4%14.9%
Fluralaner1546.1%6.7%
Selamectin1315.2%3%
Afoxolaner1184.7%5.7%
Carprofen1174.6%4.8%
Moxidectin1124.4%5%
Cyclosporine803.2%1.5%
Milbemycin Oxime712.8%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime662.6%2.7%
Oclacitinib602.4%2.9%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin461.8%1.3%
Meloxicam411.6%0.8%
Nitenpyram411.6%1.1%
Ivermectin391.5%1.3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner381.5%5.1%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride341.4%2.3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel341.4%3.1%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate331.3%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Pekingese reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting24.5%616
  2. Emesis[vomiting]10.7%270
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.7%220
  4. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]7.7%193
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.5%190
  6. Anorexia[not eating]6.2%156
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]6%152
  8. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.6%115
  9. Death4.4%111
  10. Pruritus[itching]4.3%107
  11. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.3%84
  12. Convulsion[seizure]3.2%81
  13. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3%75
  14. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]2.5%64
  15. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.2%56
  16. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.2%55
  17. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.2%55
  18. Vocalisation[crying out or unusual noise]2.1%53
  19. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2%51
  20. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.9%48
  21. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]1.9%47
  22. Panting1.8%45
  23. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.7%42
  24. Trembling1.6%41

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year7.4%185
1 to 3 years20.9%527
4 to 7 years26.3%662
8 to 11 years23.3%586
12 years and over18.4%464
Age not given3.7%93

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)25.1%632
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)65.7%1,653
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)4.4%112
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%1
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given4.7%119

Coloured bar: Pekingese reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

059Apr 2021: 7May 2021: 5Jun 2021: 9Jul 2021: 6Aug 2021: 8Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 6Jan 2022: 32022Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 5Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 7Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 7Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 6Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 2Jan 2023: 52023Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 8Nov 2023: 7Dec 2023: 2Jan 2024: 32024Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 9Apr 2024: 4May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 7Jul 2024: 7Aug 2024: 8Sep 2024: 7Oct 2024: 9Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 32025Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 7Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 3Jan 2026: 22026Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal29.2%734
Recovered with Sequela2.7%69
Ongoing11.2%282
Died5.6%141
Euthanized1.3%32
Outcome Unknown17.7%446

Beside all dogs

MeasurePekingeseAll dogs
Reports2,517985,675
Latest 12 months4353,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it35%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports68.755

Questions about Pekingese reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Pekingeses?

2,517 reports through March 2026, 0.3% of reports about dogs; 43 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Pekingese reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (413), spinosad (348), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (160), fluralaner (154) and selamectin (131). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (24.5%), emesis (10.7%), lethargy (8.7%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (7.7%) and diarrhoea (7.5%).

Is the Pekingese more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Pekingese animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Pekingese" becomes "Pekingese"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.