Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Plott: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Plott" · single-breed animals only

211reports, 2011–20260% of dog reports
15reports, 12 months to March 202633 in the 12 months before
41.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
20.4%name pyrantel pamoate + sarolanerall dogs: 5.1%

FDA's database holds 211 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Plott", shown here as Plott: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

15 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 55% from 33 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner is named in 20.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (5.1%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (15.6%), vomiting (13.7%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (8.5%). Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm appears in 15.6% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (5.4%). 41.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Plott reportsShare of all dog reports
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner4320.4%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad3516.6%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate2813.3%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel2411.4%3.1%
Fluralaner157.1%6.7%
Moxidectin136.2%5%
Bedinvetmab94.3%1.9%
Sarolaner94.3%1.7%
Gabapentin73.3%0.9%
Afoxolaner62.8%5.7%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride62.8%2.3%
Nitenpyram52.4%1.1%
Carprofen41.9%4.8%
Lotilaner41.9%1%
Deracoxib31.4%1.1%
Ivermectin31.4%1.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime31.4%2.7%
Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner31.4%0.1%
Febantel + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate20.9%0.7%
Fenbendazole20.9%0.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Plott reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]15.6%33
  2. Vomiting13.7%29
  3. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]8.5%18
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.6%16
  5. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.6%14
  6. Emesis[vomiting]6.2%13
  7. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]5.7%12
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]4.7%10
  9. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.3%7
  10. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.3%7
  11. Polyuria[passing more urine than usual]3.3%7
  12. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.8%6
  13. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.8%6
  14. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.8%6
  15. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2.8%6
  16. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - tapeworm[the product did not have the expected effect: tapeworms]2.8%6
  17. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.8%6
  18. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.4%5
  19. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]2.4%5
  20. Lack of efficacy (tick)[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.4%5
  21. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]2.4%5
  22. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.4%5
  23. Pruritus[itching]2.4%5
  24. Underdose[less than the labelled amount was given]2.4%5

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.1%17
1 to 3 years45.5%96
4 to 7 years24.6%52
8 to 11 years12.3%26
12 years and over8.1%17
Age not given1.4%3

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.4%5
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)38.9%82
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)54%114
45 kg and over (99 lb+)2.4%5
Weight not given2.4%5

Coloured bar: Plott reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

036Apr 2021: 1May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 2Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 3Jan 2023: 12023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 5Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 3Jan 2025: 52025Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 2Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal23.2%49
Recovered with Sequela5.2%11
Ongoing37.9%80
Died0.9%2
Euthanized2.8%6
Outcome Unknown29.9%63

Beside all dogs

MeasurePlottAll dogs
Reports211985,675
Latest 12 months1553,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it41.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports37.955

Questions about Plott reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Plotts?

211 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 15 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Plott reports?

By active ingredient: pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (43), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (35), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (28), milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (24) and fluralaner (15). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (15.6%), vomiting (13.7%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (8.5%), diarrhoea (7.6%) and lethargy (6.6%).

Is the Plott more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Plott animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Plott" becomes "Plott"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.