Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail): adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Sheepdog - Old English (Bobtail)" · single-breed animals only

106reports, 2008–20260% of dog reports
44reports, 12 months to March 202647 in the 12 months before
45.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
28.3%name bedinvetmaball dogs: 1.9%

FDA's database holds 106 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Sheepdog - Old English (Bobtail)", shown here as Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail): 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

44 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 47 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are bedinvetmab, pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner and fluralaner. Bedinvetmab is named in 28.3% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (1.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (18.9%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (13.2%) and diarrhoea (12.3%). Vomiting appears in 18.9% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 45.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail) reportsShare of all dog reports
Bedinvetmab3028.3%1.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1917.9%5.1%
Fluralaner1716%6.7%
Gabapentin109.4%0.9%
Maropitant109.4%1.2%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel87.5%3.1%
Afoxolaner76.6%5.7%
Carprofen65.7%4.8%
Moxidectin65.7%5%
Amantadine54.7%0%
Oclacitinib54.7%2.9%
Ondansetron54.7%0.1%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate43.8%0.8%
Ursodiol43.8%0.1%
Isoflurane32.8%0.3%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate32.8%14.9%
Ketamine Hydrochloride32.8%0.2%
Lotilaner32.8%1%
Amoxicillin21.9%0.3%
Dexamethasone Sodium Phosphate21.9%0.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail) reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting18.9%20
  2. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]13.2%14
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]12.3%13
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]12.3%13
  5. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]7.5%8
  6. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]7.5%8
  7. Polyuria[passing more urine than usual]7.5%8
  8. Anorexia[not eating]6.6%7
  9. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]6.6%7
  10. Intentional misuse[use that was knowingly different from the label]4.7%5
  11. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]4.7%5
  12. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.7%5
  13. Medication error NOS[a mistake in giving the product, type not specified]4.7%5
  14. Panting4.7%5
  15. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.7%5
  16. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.8%4
  17. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]3.8%4

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year9.4%10
1 to 3 years25.5%27
4 to 7 years23.6%25
8 to 11 years22.6%24
12 years and over16%17
Age not given2.8%3

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.9%1
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0%0
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)15.1%16
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)73.6%78
45 kg and over (99 lb+)9.4%10
Weight not given0.9%1

Coloured bar: Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail) reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

048Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 42024Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 6Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 8Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 6Jan 2025: 52025Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 6May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 3Jan 2026: 32026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal21.7%23
Recovered with Sequela0%0
Ongoing49.1%52
Died1.9%2
Euthanized7.5%8
Outcome Unknown18.9%20

Beside all dogs

MeasureOld English Sheepdog (Bobtail)All dogs
Reports106985,675
Latest 12 months4453,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it45.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports94.355

Questions about Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail) reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail)s?

106 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 44 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail) reports?

By active ingredient: bedinvetmab (30), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (19), fluralaner (17), gabapentin (10) and maropitant (10). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (18.9%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (13.2%), diarrhoea (12.3%), lethargy (12.3%) and decreased appetite (8.5%).

Is the Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail) more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail) animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Sheepdog - Old English (Bobtail)" becomes "Old English Sheepdog (Bobtail)"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.