Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Norwich Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Norwich" · single-breed animals only

267reports, 1998–20250% of dog reports
7reports, 12 months to March 202611 in the 12 months before
34.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
23.6%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

267 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Norwich Terrier (FDA breed label "Terrier - Norwich"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

7 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 36% from 11 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 23.6% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (20.2%), lethargy (14.6%) and diarrhoea (11.6%). Vomiting appears in 20.2% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 34.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Norwich Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad6323.6%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate3613.5%14.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner186.7%5.1%
Spinosad186.7%5.8%
Selamectin134.9%3%
Afoxolaner124.5%5.7%
Fluralaner103.7%6.7%
Trilostane93.4%1.2%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime83%2.7%
Milbemycin Oxime83%3%
Oclacitinib83%2.9%
Carprofen72.6%4.8%
Ivermectin51.9%1.3%
Maropitant51.9%1.2%
Meloxicam51.9%0.8%
Grapiprant41.5%0.8%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate41.5%0.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel41.5%3.1%
Bedinvetmab31.1%1.9%
Cefpodoxime proxetil31.1%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Norwich Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting20.2%54
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]14.6%39
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]11.6%31
  4. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.9%13
  5. Trembling4.9%13
  6. Emesis[vomiting]4.5%12
  7. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]4.1%11
  8. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]4.1%11
  9. Shaking4.1%11
  10. Anorexia[not eating]3.7%10
  11. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3%8
  12. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3%8
  13. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3%8
  14. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3%8
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.6%7
  16. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.6%7
  17. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.6%7
  18. Panting2.6%7
  19. Cough2.2%6
  20. Fever2.2%6
  21. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.2%6
  22. Abnormal posture NOS[NOS: not otherwise specified]1.9%5
  23. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.9%5

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year11.2%30
1 to 3 years26.6%71
4 to 7 years23.2%62
8 to 11 years22.5%60
12 years and over13.9%37
Age not given2.6%7

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)13.1%35
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)75.3%201
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)6.7%18
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given4.9%13

Coloured bar: Norwich Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

024Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 3Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 2Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 22025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal33%88
Recovered with Sequela3.7%10
Ongoing16.1%43
Died1.5%4
Euthanized1.9%5
Outcome Unknown22.1%59

Beside all dogs

MeasureNorwich TerrierAll dogs
Reports267985,675
Latest 12 months753,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it34.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports33.755

Questions about Norwich Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Norwich Terriers?

267 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 7 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Norwich Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (63), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (36), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (18), spinosad (18) and selamectin (13). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (20.2%), lethargy (14.6%), diarrhoea (11.6%), depression (4.9%) and trembling (4.9%).

Is the Norwich Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Norwich Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Norwich" becomes "Norwich Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.