Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Miniature Schnauzer: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Schnauzer - Miniature" · single-breed animals only

7,020reports, 2003–20260.7% of dog reports
434reports, 12 months to March 2026463 in the 12 months before
41.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
18.3%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

7,020 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Miniature Schnauzer (FDA breed label "Schnauzer - Miniature"). That is 0.7% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

434 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 463 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and fluralaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 18.3% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (22.3%), lethargy (13.6%) and diarrhoea (8.7%). Vomiting appears in 22.3% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 41.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Miniature Schnauzer reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1,28418.3%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1,00314.3%14.9%
Fluralaner6609.4%6.7%
Afoxolaner5557.9%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner4406.3%5.1%
Moxidectin3685.2%5%
Insulin3485%0.7%
Spinosad2854.1%5.8%
Oclacitinib2763.9%2.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel2443.5%3.1%
Trilostane2123%1.2%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1802.6%2.7%
Sarolaner1372%1.7%
Maropitant1341.9%1.2%
Carprofen1221.7%4.8%
Selamectin1061.5%3%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin1001.4%1.3%
Pimobendan991.4%0.6%
Bedinvetmab891.3%1.9%
Lotilaner831.2%1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Miniature Schnauzer reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting22.3%1,567
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]13.6%955
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.7%609
  4. Emesis[vomiting]8.1%569
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]8%563
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]6.4%446
  7. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]5.5%388
  8. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]5%354
  9. Anorexia[not eating]4%279
  10. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3.4%236
  11. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]3.2%228
  12. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.2%225
  13. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.1%215
  14. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.7%187
  15. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.6%183
  16. Not eating2.6%180
  17. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.5%175
  18. Shaking2.3%158
  19. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2.2%152
  20. Death2%138
  21. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]2%138
  22. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.9%132
  23. Pruritus[itching]1.9%131

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year9.2%646
1 to 3 years23.5%1,651
4 to 7 years25.6%1,799
8 to 11 years25.2%1,772
12 years and over14.2%996
Age not given2.2%156

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)11.7%819
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)67%4,706
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)18.4%1,292
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%3
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given2.8%200

Coloured bar: Miniature Schnauzer reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02855Apr 2021: 38May 2021: 43Jun 2021: 55Jul 2021: 36Aug 2021: 34Sep 2021: 38Oct 2021: 32Nov 2021: 30Dec 2021: 22Jan 2022: 192022Feb 2022: 27Mar 2022: 24Apr 2022: 28May 2022: 40Jun 2022: 32Jul 2022: 38Aug 2022: 44Sep 2022: 29Oct 2022: 46Nov 2022: 29Dec 2022: 20Jan 2023: 282023Feb 2023: 21Mar 2023: 30Apr 2023: 34May 2023: 32Jun 2023: 29Jul 2023: 41Aug 2023: 23Sep 2023: 24Oct 2023: 32Nov 2023: 28Dec 2023: 29Jan 2024: 312024Feb 2024: 30Mar 2024: 26Apr 2024: 45May 2024: 50Jun 2024: 52Jul 2024: 42Aug 2024: 46Sep 2024: 26Oct 2024: 38Nov 2024: 32Dec 2024: 30Jan 2025: 332025Feb 2025: 31Mar 2025: 38Apr 2025: 41May 2025: 37Jun 2025: 51Jul 2025: 41Aug 2025: 54Sep 2025: 32Oct 2025: 37Nov 2025: 33Dec 2025: 30Jan 2026: 302026Feb 2026: 20Mar 2026: 28

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal34.6%2,430
Recovered with Sequela3.7%257
Ongoing25.1%1,761
Died2%140
Euthanized2.6%180
Outcome Unknown32%2,248

Beside all dogs

MeasureMiniature SchnauzerAll dogs
Reports7,020985,675
Latest 12 months43453,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it41.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports45.655

Questions about Miniature Schnauzer reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Miniature Schnauzers?

7,020 reports through March 2026, 0.7% of reports about dogs; 434 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Miniature Schnauzer reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (1,284), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (1,003), fluralaner (660), afoxolaner (555) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (440). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (22.3%), lethargy (13.6%), diarrhoea (8.7%), emesis (8.1%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (8%).

Is the Miniature Schnauzer more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Miniature Schnauzer animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Schnauzer - Miniature" becomes "Miniature Schnauzer"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.