Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Newfoundland: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Newfoundland" · single-breed animals only

1,465reports, 1987–20260.2% of dog reports
76reports, 12 months to March 202680 in the 12 months before
40.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
12.5%name carprofenall dogs: 4.8%

FDA's database holds 1,465 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Newfoundland", shown here as Newfoundland: 0.2% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

76 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 80 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are carprofen, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and milbemycin oxime + spinosad. Carprofen is named in 12.5% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (4.8%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (16.8%), diarrhoea (9.6%) and anorexia (7.7%). Vomiting appears in 16.8% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Newfoundland reportsShare of all dog reports
Carprofen18312.5%4.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate17311.8%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1077.3%13.1%
Fluralaner896.1%6.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner785.3%5.1%
Afoxolaner765.2%5.7%
Oclacitinib755.1%2.9%
Bedinvetmab634.3%1.9%
Milbemycin Oxime634.3%3%
Selamectin563.8%3%
Deracoxib503.4%1.1%
Moxidectin503.4%5%
Spinosad503.4%5.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel392.7%3.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime362.5%2.7%
Grapiprant292%0.8%
Gabapentin261.8%0.9%
Polysulfated Glycosaminoglycan251.7%0.4%
Cyclosporine221.5%1.5%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride221.5%2.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Newfoundland reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting16.8%246
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.6%141
  3. Anorexia[not eating]7.7%113
  4. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.7%84
  5. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]5.6%82
  6. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]5.1%75
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.1%75
  8. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.8%70
  9. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]4.4%65
  10. Death4.2%61
  11. Emesis[vomiting]3.8%55
  12. Fever3.1%46
  13. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.7%40
  14. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.7%39
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.6%38
  16. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.5%37
  17. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]2.5%37
  18. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.4%35
  19. Panting2.4%35
  20. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.3%34
  21. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.3%34
  22. Anaemia NOS[low red blood cell count]2.2%32
  23. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]2.2%32
  24. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.2%32

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year14.9%219
1 to 3 years27.7%406
4 to 7 years28.7%420
8 to 11 years22.7%332
12 years and over3.1%45
Age not given2.9%43

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.2%3
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.3%19
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)5.3%77
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)19.6%287
45 kg and over (99 lb+)69.8%1,022
Weight not given3.9%57

Coloured bar: Newfoundland reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0714Apr 2021: 6May 2021: 2Jun 2021: 3Jul 2021: 3Aug 2021: 6Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 10May 2022: 6Jun 2022: 4Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 6Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 3Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 7Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 9Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 10Dec 2023: 11Jan 2024: 82024Feb 2024: 7Mar 2024: 13Apr 2024: 7May 2024: 8Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 7Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 9Nov 2024: 14Dec 2024: 7Jan 2025: 72025Feb 2025: 4Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 13May 2025: 8Jun 2025: 7Jul 2025: 8Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 7Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 6Jan 2026: 42026Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal19.1%280
Recovered with Sequela2%29
Ongoing21.6%317
Died6.8%99
Euthanized2.3%33
Outcome Unknown20.1%295

Beside all dogs

MeasureNewfoundlandAll dogs
Reports1,465985,675
Latest 12 months7653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports90.155

Questions about Newfoundland reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Newfoundlands?

1,465 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 76 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Newfoundland reports?

By active ingredient: carprofen (183), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (173), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (107), fluralaner (89) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (78). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (16.8%), diarrhoea (9.6%), anorexia (7.7%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (5.7%) and lethargy (5.6%).

Is the Newfoundland more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Newfoundland animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Newfoundland" becomes "Newfoundland"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.