Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Miniature Pinscher: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Pinscher - Miniature" · single-breed animals only

4,371reports, 1987–20260.4% of dog reports
108reports, 12 months to March 2026109 in the 12 months before
40.2%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13.1%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 4,371 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Pinscher - Miniature", shown here as Miniature Pinscher: 0.4% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

108 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 109 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and spinosad. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 13.1% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (19%), lethargy (9.5%) and diarrhoea (7.8%). Vomiting appears in 19% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.2% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Miniature Pinscher reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad57313.1%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate49511.3%14.9%
Spinosad3578.2%5.8%
Insulin2766.3%0.7%
Afoxolaner2164.9%5.7%
Fluralaner2104.8%6.7%
Moxidectin2024.6%5%
Selamectin1703.9%3%
Carprofen1513.5%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime1313%3%
Cyclosporine1052.4%1.5%
Trilostane992.3%1.2%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime972.2%2.7%
Oclacitinib942.2%2.9%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate882%0.9%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride882%2.3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner761.7%5.1%
Meloxicam681.6%0.8%
Nitenpyram681.6%1.1%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin631.4%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Miniature Pinscher reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting19%830
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.5%415
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.8%339
  4. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]5.9%258
  5. Emesis[vomiting]5.8%254
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.6%246
  7. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]5.5%239
  8. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.2%226
  9. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.9%213
  10. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4.2%182
  11. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.3%146
  12. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.2%142
  13. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]3.2%139
  14. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.1%137
  15. Death3%133
  16. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3%130
  17. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.9%125
  18. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.7%120
  19. Trembling2.6%114
  20. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.4%107
  21. Shaking2.4%104
  22. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.3%100
  23. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.3%99
  24. Pruritus[itching]2.2%96

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year7%306
1 to 3 years23.3%1,017
4 to 7 years26.6%1,163
8 to 11 years24.5%1,069
12 years and over14.8%645
Age not given3.9%171

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)35.7%1,559
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)53.1%2,320
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)7.7%337
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.2%7
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.4%148

Coloured bar: Miniature Pinscher reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0816Apr 2021: 10May 2021: 11Jun 2021: 14Jul 2021: 10Aug 2021: 9Sep 2021: 7Oct 2021: 16Nov 2021: 9Dec 2021: 6Jan 2022: 82022Feb 2022: 10Mar 2022: 10Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 16Jun 2022: 12Jul 2022: 13Aug 2022: 14Sep 2022: 10Oct 2022: 8Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 10Jan 2023: 92023Feb 2023: 7Mar 2023: 9Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 9Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 10Sep 2023: 7Oct 2023: 15Nov 2023: 14Dec 2023: 16Jan 2024: 112024Feb 2024: 9Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 14May 2024: 12Jun 2024: 11Jul 2024: 10Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 8Oct 2024: 8Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 10Jan 2025: 112025Feb 2025: 4Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 8May 2025: 10Jun 2025: 11Jul 2025: 10Aug 2025: 10Sep 2025: 13Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 8Dec 2025: 5Jan 2026: 82026Feb 2026: 9Mar 2026: 8

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal22.8%997
Recovered with Sequela3.6%158
Ongoing15.4%673
Died4.3%186
Euthanized1.9%85
Outcome Unknown21.8%953

Beside all dogs

MeasureMiniature PinscherAll dogs
Reports4,371985,675
Latest 12 months10853,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.2%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports6255

Questions about Miniature Pinscher reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Miniature Pinschers?

4,371 reports through March 2026, 0.4% of reports about dogs; 108 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Miniature Pinscher reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (573), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (495), spinosad (357), insulin (276) and afoxolaner (216). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (19%), lethargy (9.5%), diarrhoea (7.8%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (5.9%) and emesis (5.8%).

Is the Miniature Pinscher more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Miniature Pinscher animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Pinscher - Miniature" becomes "Miniature Pinscher"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.