Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Norfolk Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Norfolk" · single-breed animals only

151reports, 1992–20260% of dog reports
3reports, 12 months to March 202611 in the 12 months before
31.1%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
19.2%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 151 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier - Norfolk", shown here as Norfolk Terrier: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

3 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 73% from 11 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and fluralaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 19.2% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (23.2%), diarrhoea (14.6%) and lethargy (13.2%). Vomiting appears in 23.2% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 31.1% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Norfolk Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad2919.2%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1711.3%14.9%
Fluralaner138.6%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime117.3%3%
Spinosad106.6%5.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime96%2.7%
Afoxolaner85.3%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner74.6%5.1%
Carprofen53.3%4.8%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin42.6%1.3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel42.6%3.1%
Oclacitinib42.6%2.9%
Gabapentin32%0.9%
Selamectin32%3%
Selegiline Hydrochloride32%0.4%
Trilostane32%1.2%
Cefpodoxime proxetil21.3%0.4%
Grapiprant21.3%0.8%
Insulin21.3%0.7%
Isoflurane21.3%0.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Norfolk Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting23.2%35
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]14.6%22
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]13.2%20
  4. Emesis[vomiting]9.9%15
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]7.9%12
  6. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]6.6%10
  7. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]5.3%8
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]4.6%7
  9. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.3%5
  10. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.3%5
  11. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.3%5
  12. Shaking3.3%5
  13. Anorexia[not eating]2.6%4
  14. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.6%4
  15. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.6%4
  16. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.6%4
  17. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]2.6%4
  18. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.6%4
  19. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]2.6%4
  20. Panting2.6%4
  21. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2%3

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year6.6%10
1 to 3 years28.5%43
4 to 7 years22.5%34
8 to 11 years27.2%41
12 years and over11.9%18
Age not given3.3%5

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)19.2%29
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)68.2%103
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)9.3%14
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.3%5

Coloured bar: Norfolk Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal38.4%58
Recovered with Sequela2%3
Ongoing13.9%21
Died3.3%5
Euthanized2.6%4
Outcome Unknown21.9%33

Beside all dogs

MeasureNorfolk TerrierAll dogs
Reports151985,675
Latest 12 months353,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it31.1%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports59.655

Questions about Norfolk Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Norfolk Terriers?

151 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 3 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Norfolk Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (29), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (17), fluralaner (13), milbemycin oxime (11) and spinosad (10). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (23.2%), diarrhoea (14.6%), lethargy (13.2%), emesis (9.9%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (7.9%).

Is the Norfolk Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Norfolk Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Norfolk" becomes "Norfolk Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.