Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Golden Retriever: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Retriever - Golden" · single-breed animals only

32,727reports, 1987–20263.3% of dog reports
1,899reports, 12 months to March 20261,996 in the 12 months before
40.8%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.3%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

32,727 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Golden Retriever (FDA breed label "Retriever - Golden"). That is 3.3% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

1,899 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 1,996 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and carprofen. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 17.3% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (17.4%), diarrhoea (8.7%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (7.7%). Vomiting appears in 17.4% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.8% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Golden Retriever reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate5,65717.3%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad3,2349.9%13.1%
Carprofen2,5297.7%4.8%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner2,3257.1%5.1%
Afoxolaner2,2927%5.7%
Fluralaner1,8565.7%6.7%
Moxidectin1,2823.9%5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1,2053.7%3.1%
Milbemycin Oxime1,1493.5%3%
Selamectin1,0673.3%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1,0403.2%2.7%
Oclacitinib1,0133.1%2.9%
Spinosad9022.8%5.8%
Bedinvetmab6842.1%1.9%
Sarolaner6522%1.7%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride6361.9%2.3%
Deracoxib6301.9%1.1%
Cyclosporine5181.6%1.5%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate3811.2%0.8%
Firocoxib3751.1%0.8%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Golden Retriever reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting17.4%5,698
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.7%2,856
  3. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]7.7%2,512
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.1%2,335
  5. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]7.1%2,319
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.8%1,885
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.4%1,445
  8. Emesis[vomiting]4.2%1,374
  9. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.1%1,328
  10. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]3.8%1,241
  11. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3.3%1,095
  12. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.3%1,085
  13. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.2%1,034
  14. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.8%913
  15. Death2.8%903
  16. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.7%888
  17. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.7%887
  18. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.7%877
  19. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.4%779
  20. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.4%773
  21. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.2%735
  22. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.2%725
  23. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.9%622
  24. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]1.8%592

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year13.6%4,448
1 to 3 years28.2%9,231
4 to 7 years25.2%8,261
8 to 11 years21.6%7,055
12 years and over9%2,943
Age not given2.4%789

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.7%222
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.2%706
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)14.2%4,652
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)72.4%23,703
45 kg and over (99 lb+)6.3%2,061
Weight not given4.2%1,383

Coloured bar: Golden Retriever reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0103206Apr 2021: 145May 2021: 144Jun 2021: 152Jul 2021: 138Aug 2021: 132Sep 2021: 143Oct 2021: 115Nov 2021: 111Dec 2021: 84Jan 2022: 962022Feb 2022: 105Mar 2022: 120Apr 2022: 116May 2022: 116Jun 2022: 120Jul 2022: 122Aug 2022: 132Sep 2022: 140Oct 2022: 120Nov 2022: 108Dec 2022: 84Jan 2023: 1062023Feb 2023: 114Mar 2023: 106Apr 2023: 132May 2023: 152Jun 2023: 160Jul 2023: 125Aug 2023: 145Sep 2023: 136Oct 2023: 148Nov 2023: 118Dec 2023: 125Jan 2024: 1362024Feb 2024: 163Mar 2024: 154Apr 2024: 176May 2024: 206Jun 2024: 175Jul 2024: 177Aug 2024: 185Sep 2024: 188Oct 2024: 188Nov 2024: 146Dec 2024: 136Jan 2025: 1722025Feb 2025: 139Mar 2025: 108Apr 2025: 197May 2025: 169Jun 2025: 173Jul 2025: 183Aug 2025: 160Sep 2025: 201Oct 2025: 178Nov 2025: 122Dec 2025: 120Jan 2026: 1392026Feb 2026: 140Mar 2026: 117

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal20.6%6,751
Recovered with Sequela2.2%716
Ongoing20.2%6,617
Died4.5%1,484
Euthanized1.6%537
Outcome Unknown24.3%7,962

Beside all dogs

MeasureGolden RetrieverAll dogs
Reports32,727985,675
Latest 12 months1,89953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.8%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports61.855

Questions about Golden Retriever reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Golden Retrievers?

32,727 reports through March 2026, 3.3% of reports about dogs; 1,899 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Golden Retriever reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (5,657), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (3,234), carprofen (2,529), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (2,325) and afoxolaner (2,292). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (17.4%), diarrhoea (8.7%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (7.7%), lethargy (7.1%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (7.1%).

Is the Golden Retriever more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Golden Retriever animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Retriever - Golden" becomes "Golden Retriever"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.