Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Greater Swiss Mountain Dog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Greater Swiss Mountain Dog" · single-breed animals only

198reports, 2003–20260% of dog reports
13reports, 12 months to March 202615 in the 12 months before
35.6%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
12.1%name pyrantel pamoate + sarolanerall dogs: 5.1%

FDA's database holds 198 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Greater Swiss Mountain Dog", shown here as Greater Swiss Mountain Dog: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

13 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 13% from 15 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and carprofen. Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner is named in 12.1% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (5.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (16.2%), lethargy (10.1%) and diarrhoea (9.1%). Vomiting appears in 16.2% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 35.6% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Greater Swiss Mountain Dog reportsShare of all dog reports
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner2412.1%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad168.1%13.1%
Carprofen147.1%4.8%
Moxidectin136.6%5%
Oclacitinib126.1%2.9%
Fluralaner115.6%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel115.6%3.1%
Bedinvetmab105.1%1.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime105.1%2.7%
Milbemycin Oxime105.1%3%
Phenylpropanolamine hydrochloride105.1%0.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate94.5%14.9%
Spinosad84%5.8%
Selamectin63%3%
Afoxolaner52.5%5.7%
Deracoxib52.5%1.1%
Gabapentin42%0.9%
Grapiprant42%0.8%
Ivermectin31.5%1.3%
Lufenuron + Praziquantel31.5%0.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Greater Swiss Mountain Dog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting16.2%32
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]10.1%20
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.1%18
  4. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]8.1%16
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]6.6%13
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.1%10
  7. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]4.5%9
  8. Emesis[vomiting]4.5%9
  9. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]4.5%9
  10. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]4%8
  11. Polyuria[passing more urine than usual]4%8
  12. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]3.5%7
  13. Anorexia[not eating]3%6
  14. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3%6
  15. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3%6
  16. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]3%6
  17. Convulsion[seizure]2.5%5
  18. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.5%5
  19. Pale mucous membrane[pale gums]2.5%5
  20. Panting2.5%5
  21. Underdose[less than the labelled amount was given]2.5%5

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year17.2%34
1 to 3 years33.8%67
4 to 7 years24.7%49
8 to 11 years19.7%39
12 years and over2%4
Age not given2.5%5

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0.5%1
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)10.1%20
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)37.9%75
45 kg and over (99 lb+)47%93
Weight not given4.5%9

Coloured bar: Greater Swiss Mountain Dog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

035Apr 2021: 5May 2021: 1Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 12022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 52024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 12025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal26.8%53
Recovered with Sequela1.5%3
Ongoing29.3%58
Died1%2
Euthanized1.5%3
Outcome Unknown22.2%44

Beside all dogs

MeasureGreater Swiss Mountain DogAll dogs
Reports198985,675
Latest 12 months1353,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it35.6%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports25.355

Questions about Greater Swiss Mountain Dog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Greater Swiss Mountain Dogs?

198 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 13 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Greater Swiss Mountain Dog reports?

By active ingredient: pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (24), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (16), carprofen (14), moxidectin (13) and oclacitinib (12). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (16.2%), lethargy (10.1%), diarrhoea (9.1%), seizure NOS (8.1%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (6.6%).

Is the Greater Swiss Mountain Dog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Greater Swiss Mountain Dog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Greater Swiss Mountain Dog" becomes "Greater Swiss Mountain Dog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.