Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Gordon Setter: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Setter - Gordon" · single-breed animals only

304reports, 1990–20260% of dog reports
9reports, 12 months to March 202619 in the 12 months before
43.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14.1%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 304 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Setter - Gordon", shown here as Gordon Setter: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

9 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 53% from 19 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, carprofen and afoxolaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 14.1% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.7%), diarrhoea (11.2%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (9.5%). Vomiting appears in 21.7% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 43.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Gordon Setter reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate4314.1%14.9%
Carprofen3110.2%4.8%
Afoxolaner216.9%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime175.6%3%
Fluralaner154.9%6.7%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime134.3%2.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner134.3%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad123.9%13.1%
Oclacitinib113.6%2.9%
Selamectin113.6%3%
Spinosad103.3%5.8%
Moxidectin82.6%5%
Ivermectin72.3%1.3%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate72.3%0.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel72.3%3.1%
Bedinvetmab62%1.9%
Insulin62%0.7%
(S) - methoprene62%0.6%
Gabapentin51.6%0.9%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin51.6%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Gordon Setter reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.7%66
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]11.2%34
  3. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]9.5%29
  4. Anorexia[not eating]8.9%27
  5. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]6.6%20
  6. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.9%18
  7. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]5.3%16
  8. Death4.6%14
  9. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]4.6%14
  10. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]4.6%14
  11. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]4.3%13
  12. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.3%13
  13. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]3.9%12
  14. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.6%11
  15. Emesis[vomiting]3.6%11
  16. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.3%10
  17. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]3%9
  18. Pruritus[itching]3%9
  19. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.6%8
  20. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.6%8
  21. Fever2.6%8
  22. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.3%7
  23. Hypersalivation[drooling]2.3%7
  24. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.3%7

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year7.9%24
1 to 3 years22.7%69
4 to 7 years23.4%71
8 to 11 years27.6%84
12 years and over15.1%46
Age not given3.3%10

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.3%7
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)32.9%100
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)60.2%183
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1%3
Weight not given3.6%11

Coloured bar: Gordon Setter reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

024Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 12023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal24%73
Recovered with Sequela1.6%5
Ongoing15.8%48
Died5.6%17
Euthanized1.6%5
Outcome Unknown19.4%59

Beside all dogs

MeasureGordon SetterAll dogs
Reports304985,675
Latest 12 months953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it43.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports72.455

Questions about Gordon Setter reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Gordon Setters?

304 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 9 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Gordon Setter reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (43), carprofen (31), afoxolaner (21), milbemycin oxime (17) and fluralaner (15). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.7%), diarrhoea (11.2%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (9.5%), anorexia (8.9%) and lack of efficacy - NOS (6.6%).

Is the Gordon Setter more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Gordon Setter animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Setter - Gordon" becomes "Gordon Setter"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.