Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

English Bulldog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Bulldog - English" · single-breed animals only

932reports, 1997–20260.1% of dog reports
361reports, 12 months to March 2026448 in the 12 months before
49.4%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
20.4%name bedinvetmaball dogs: 1.9%

932 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as English Bulldog (FDA breed label "Bulldog - English"). That is 0.1% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

361 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 19% from 448 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are bedinvetmab, oclacitinib and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner. Bedinvetmab is named in 20.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (1.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (13.3%), lethargy (8.8%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (7.5%). Vomiting appears in 13.3% of reports, a smaller share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 49.4% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of English Bulldog reportsShare of all dog reports
Bedinvetmab19020.4%1.9%
Oclacitinib14515.6%2.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner11212%5.1%
Fluralaner849%6.7%
Moxidectin677.2%5%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate545.8%14.9%
Carprofen495.3%4.8%
Afoxolaner475%5.7%
Ilunocitinib464.9%0.2%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate454.8%0.8%
Prednisone394.2%0.9%
Gabapentin374%0.9%
Cyclosporine262.8%1.5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel222.4%3.1%
Maropitant171.8%1.2%
Polysulfated Glycosaminoglycan171.8%0.4%
Butorphanol Tartrate161.7%0.4%
Cefpodoxime proxetil161.7%0.4%
Fluoxetine hydrochloride151.6%0.3%
Florfenicol + Mometasone furoate + Terbinafine141.5%0.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of English Bulldog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting13.3%124
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.8%82
  3. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]7.5%70
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.4%69
  5. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]6.3%59
  6. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]6%56
  7. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]6%56
  8. Death5.5%51
  9. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]4.1%38
  10. Medication error NOS[a mistake in giving the product, type not specified]4%37
  11. Hives3.8%35
  12. Panting3.4%32
  13. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.1%29
  14. Intentional misuse[use that was knowingly different from the label]2.9%27
  15. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (ALP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.8%26
  16. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.8%26
  17. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.7%25
  18. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.7%25
  19. Drooling2.6%24
  20. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2.4%22
  21. Shaking2.3%21

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year6.3%59
1 to 3 years25%233
4 to 7 years31.9%297
8 to 11 years26.8%250
12 years and over6.8%63
Age not given3.2%30

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.4%4
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.7%16
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)41.3%385
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)49.1%458
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1.9%18
Weight not given5.5%51

Coloured bar: English Bulldog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02550Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 11Jan 2024: 322024Feb 2024: 30Mar 2024: 26Apr 2024: 41May 2024: 50Jun 2024: 35Jul 2024: 45Aug 2024: 39Sep 2024: 41Oct 2024: 37Nov 2024: 24Dec 2024: 43Jan 2025: 312025Feb 2025: 36Mar 2025: 26Apr 2025: 24May 2025: 39Jun 2025: 39Jul 2025: 34Aug 2025: 25Sep 2025: 33Oct 2025: 29Nov 2025: 27Dec 2025: 23Jan 2026: 222026Feb 2026: 39Mar 2026: 27

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal17.7%165
Recovered with Sequela1.1%10
Ongoing43%401
Died5.9%55
Euthanized4.1%38
Outcome Unknown27.8%259

Beside all dogs

MeasureEnglish BulldogAll dogs
Reports932985,675
Latest 12 months36153,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it49.4%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports99.855

Questions about English Bulldog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve English Bulldogs?

932 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 361 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in English Bulldog reports?

By active ingredient: bedinvetmab (190), oclacitinib (145), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (112), fluralaner (84) and moxidectin (67). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (13.3%), lethargy (8.8%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (7.5%), diarrhoea (7.4%) and lack of efficacy - NOS (6.3%).

Is the English Bulldog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many English Bulldog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Bulldog - English" becomes "English Bulldog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.