Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Greyhound: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Greyhound" · single-breed animals only

4,376reports, 1987–20260.4% of dog reports
138reports, 12 months to March 2026141 in the 12 months before
44.4%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
30.7%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 4,376 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Greyhound", shown here as Greyhound: 0.4% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

138 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 141 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, moxidectin and milbemycin oxime + praziquantel. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 30.7% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (34.3%), ineffective, hooks (19.6%) and digestive tract disorder NOS (11.3%). Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm appears in 34.3% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (5%). 44.4% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Greyhound reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1,34230.7%14.9%
Moxidectin3838.8%5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel3167.2%3.1%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin2846.5%1.3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad2305.3%13.1%
Febantel + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate2255.1%0.7%
Milbemycin Oxime2024.6%3%
Carprofen1894.3%4.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1814.1%2.7%
Fenbendazole1413.2%0.3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1162.7%5.1%
Pyrantel Pamoate962.2%0.5%
Afoxolaner932.1%5.7%
Fluralaner811.9%6.7%
Selamectin791.8%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel781.8%0.7%
Bedinvetmab671.5%1.9%
Spinosad581.3%5.8%
Deracoxib541.2%1.1%
Lufenuron + Praziquantel421%0.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Greyhound reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]34.3%1,502
  2. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]19.6%856
  3. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]11.3%496
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.2%404
  5. Vomiting7.6%333
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.8%210
  7. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]3.9%169
  8. Death3.5%153
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]3%130
  10. Anorexia[not eating]2.9%128
  11. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.5%111
  12. Emesis[vomiting]2.3%99
  13. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]2.2%95
  14. Fever2.1%90
  15. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]1.9%83
  16. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]1.9%81
  17. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.7%74
  18. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.6%70
  19. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.6%68
  20. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.5%64
  21. Panting1.3%58
  22. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]1.3%57
  23. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]1.3%57

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year0.8%35
1 to 3 years27.8%1,216
4 to 7 years41.3%1,806
8 to 11 years20.2%883
12 years and over4.5%198
Age not given5.4%238

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.4%16
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0.3%15
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)7.2%317
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)85.5%3,742
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.6%28
Weight not given5.9%258

Coloured bar: Greyhound reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01734Apr 2021: 28May 2021: 24Jun 2021: 34Jul 2021: 26Aug 2021: 26Sep 2021: 22Oct 2021: 13Nov 2021: 15Dec 2021: 9Jan 2022: 142022Feb 2022: 10Mar 2022: 13Apr 2022: 20May 2022: 11Jun 2022: 12Jul 2022: 17Aug 2022: 16Sep 2022: 14Oct 2022: 10Nov 2022: 12Dec 2022: 6Jan 2023: 62023Feb 2023: 14Mar 2023: 18Apr 2023: 20May 2023: 15Jun 2023: 10Jul 2023: 13Aug 2023: 13Sep 2023: 5Oct 2023: 11Nov 2023: 16Dec 2023: 9Jan 2024: 92024Feb 2024: 13Mar 2024: 7Apr 2024: 6May 2024: 11Jun 2024: 14Jul 2024: 11Aug 2024: 20Sep 2024: 8Oct 2024: 14Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 11Jan 2025: 92025Feb 2025: 16Mar 2025: 12Apr 2025: 12May 2025: 11Jun 2025: 17Jul 2025: 16Aug 2025: 13Sep 2025: 15Oct 2025: 11Nov 2025: 8Dec 2025: 7Jan 2026: 122026Feb 2026: 11Mar 2026: 5

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal12.3%538
Recovered with Sequela0.8%33
Ongoing18.6%814
Died5.1%225
Euthanized1.2%52
Outcome Unknown40.6%1,775

Beside all dogs

MeasureGreyhoundAll dogs
Reports4,376985,675
Latest 12 months13853,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it44.4%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports63.155

Questions about Greyhound reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Greyhounds?

4,376 reports through March 2026, 0.4% of reports about dogs; 138 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Greyhound reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (1,342), moxidectin (383), milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (316), imidacloprid + moxidectin (284) and milbemycin oxime + spinosad (230). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (34.3%), ineffective, hooks (19.6%), digestive tract disorder NOS (11.3%), diarrhoea (9.2%) and vomiting (7.6%).

Is the Greyhound more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Greyhound animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Greyhound" becomes "Greyhound"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.