Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Hound: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Hound (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

1,734reports, 2003–20260.2% of dog reports
109reports, 12 months to March 2026103 in the 12 months before
31.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
23.1%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

1,734 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Hound (FDA breed label "Hound (unspecified)"). That is 0.2% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

109 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 103 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and moxidectin. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 23.1% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (14%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (13.7%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (10.8%). Vomiting appears in 14% of reports, a smaller share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 31.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Hound reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate40023.1%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad24013.8%13.1%
Moxidectin1609.2%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1307.5%5.1%
Afoxolaner1217%5.7%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1076.2%2.7%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1056.1%2.3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel834.8%3.1%
Oclacitinib633.6%2.9%
Sarolaner573.3%1.7%
Ivermectin482.8%1.3%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate482.8%0.9%
Spinosad412.4%5.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel372.1%0.7%
Fluralaner362.1%6.7%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate352%0.8%
Carprofen331.9%4.8%
Prednisone321.8%0.9%
Selamectin321.8%3%
Doxycycline281.6%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Hound reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting14%243
  2. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]13.7%238
  3. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]10.8%187
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.1%123
  5. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]6.6%115
  6. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]6.5%112
  7. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]6.4%111
  8. Emesis[vomiting]5.5%95
  9. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]5.4%94
  10. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3.5%60
  11. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.3%58
  12. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.4%41
  13. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]2.3%40
  14. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.2%39
  15. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.1%37
  16. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]2%34
  17. Anorexia[not eating]1.8%31
  18. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]1.8%31
  19. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]1.7%30
  20. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]1.7%29
  21. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]1.7%29
  22. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.6%27
  23. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.6%27
  24. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.5%26
  25. Panting1.5%26

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year9.8%170
1 to 3 years43.1%748
4 to 7 years27.4%475
8 to 11 years12.3%214
12 years and over4.3%74
Age not given3.1%53

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.8%14
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.7%47
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)49.9%866
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)41.6%721
45 kg and over (99 lb+)2%34
Weight not given3%52

Coloured bar: Hound reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01530Apr 2021: 10May 2021: 14Jun 2021: 15Jul 2021: 11Aug 2021: 15Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 12Nov 2021: 10Dec 2021: 7Jan 2022: 82022Feb 2022: 30Mar 2022: 7Apr 2022: 10May 2022: 6Jun 2022: 7Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 6Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 7Dec 2022: 5Jan 2023: 92023Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 9May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 5Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 7Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 9Dec 2023: 5Jan 2024: 62024Feb 2024: 6Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 9May 2024: 13Jun 2024: 13Jul 2024: 10Aug 2024: 8Sep 2024: 9Oct 2024: 9Nov 2024: 10Dec 2024: 3Jan 2025: 82025Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 8Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 17Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 8Aug 2025: 10Sep 2025: 12Oct 2025: 12Nov 2025: 13Dec 2025: 4Jan 2026: 62026Feb 2026: 10Mar 2026: 6

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal24.6%427
Recovered with Sequela4.6%80
Ongoing28%486
Died1.3%23
Euthanized1%18
Outcome Unknown40.5%702

Beside all dogs

MeasureHoundAll dogs
Reports1,734985,675
Latest 12 months10953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it31.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports23.655

Questions about Hound reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Hounds?

1,734 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 109 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Hound reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (400), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (240), moxidectin (160), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (130) and afoxolaner (121). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (14%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (13.7%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (10.8%), lethargy (7.1%) and lack of efficacy - NOS (6.6%).

Is the Hound more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Hound animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Hound (unspecified)" becomes "Hound"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.