Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Irish Red Setter: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Setter - Irish Red" · single-breed animals only

841reports, 1987–20260.1% of dog reports
43reports, 12 months to March 202652 in the 12 months before
43.9%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14.6%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 841 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Setter - Irish Red", shown here as Irish Red Setter: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

43 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 17% from 52 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, carprofen and milbemycin oxime + spinosad. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 14.6% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (19.5%), diarrhoea (7.4%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (5.9%). Vomiting appears in 19.5% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 43.9% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Irish Red Setter reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate12314.6%14.9%
Carprofen809.5%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad637.5%13.1%
Fluralaner617.3%6.7%
Afoxolaner607.1%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner475.6%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime435.1%3%
Moxidectin394.6%5%
Selamectin323.8%3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel283.3%3.1%
Firocoxib222.6%0.8%
Spinosad202.4%5.8%
Bedinvetmab182.1%1.9%
Ivermectin182.1%1.3%
Oclacitinib182.1%2.9%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride172%2.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime151.8%2.7%
Deracoxib141.7%1.1%
Sarolaner131.5%1.7%
Cefpodoxime proxetil101.2%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Irish Red Setter reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting19.5%164
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.4%62
  3. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]5.9%50
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]5.8%49
  5. Anorexia[not eating]5.7%48
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.4%45
  7. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.2%44
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.8%32
  9. Anaemia NOS[low red blood cell count]3.7%31
  10. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.7%31
  11. Death3.2%27
  12. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]3.2%27
  13. Fever3.1%26
  14. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]3%25
  15. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3%25
  16. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.9%24
  17. Emesis[vomiting]2.9%24
  18. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.9%24
  19. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.7%23
  20. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.5%21
  21. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.5%21
  22. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.3%19
  23. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]2.3%19
  24. Leucocytosis NOS[high white blood cell count]2.1%18

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year9.8%82
1 to 3 years25.9%218
4 to 7 years25.7%216
8 to 11 years25.6%215
12 years and over9.6%81
Age not given3.4%29

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.4%3
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.4%12
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)26.3%221
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)62.2%523
45 kg and over (99 lb+)3.2%27
Weight not given6.5%55

Coloured bar: Irish Red Setter reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

059Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 6Jul 2021: 2Aug 2021: 3Sep 2021: 7Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 2Jan 2022: 22022Feb 2022: 5Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 5May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 3Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 8Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 5Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 7May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 7Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 22025Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 5Jul 2025: 8Aug 2025: 6Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 4Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 4Jan 2026: 42026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 4

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal17.8%150
Recovered with Sequela3.2%27
Ongoing18.2%153
Died4.5%38
Euthanized1.5%13
Outcome Unknown20.8%175

Beside all dogs

MeasureIrish Red SetterAll dogs
Reports841985,675
Latest 12 months4353,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it43.9%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports60.655

Questions about Irish Red Setter reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Irish Red Setters?

841 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 43 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Irish Red Setter reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (123), carprofen (80), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (63), fluralaner (61) and afoxolaner (60). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (19.5%), diarrhoea (7.4%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (5.9%), lethargy (5.8%) and anorexia (5.7%).

Is the Irish Red Setter more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Irish Red Setter animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Setter - Irish Red" becomes "Irish Red Setter"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.