Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Havanese: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Havanese" · single-breed animals only

3,621reports, 2000–20260.4% of dog reports
249reports, 12 months to March 2026225 in the 12 months before
36.2%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
16.6%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 3,621 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Havanese", shown here as Havanese: 0.4% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

249 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 11% from 225 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and fluralaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 16.6% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (29.1%), lethargy (12%) and diarrhoea (10.3%). Vomiting appears in 29.1% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 36.2% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Havanese reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad60016.6%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate50814%14.9%
Fluralaner3419.4%6.7%
Afoxolaner3349.2%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner2496.9%5.1%
Spinosad1985.5%5.8%
Moxidectin1895.2%5%
Oclacitinib1313.6%2.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1062.9%3.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1002.8%2.7%
Sarolaner912.5%1.7%
Selamectin902.5%3%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin651.8%1.3%
Cyclosporine631.7%1.5%
Trilostane621.7%1.2%
Milbemycin Oxime531.5%3%
Carprofen511.4%4.8%
Pimobendan491.4%0.6%
Lotilaner481.3%1%
Maropitant471.3%1.2%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Havanese reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting29.1%1,055
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]12%433
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]10.3%372
  4. Emesis[vomiting]9%325
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]5.3%193
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.8%175
  7. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4%146
  8. Anorexia[not eating]3.9%141
  9. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.5%128
  10. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3%110
  11. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]3%109
  12. Shaking2.4%87
  13. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.1%76
  14. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2%73
  15. Pruritus[itching]2%73
  16. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.9%70
  17. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]1.7%61
  18. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]1.6%58
  19. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.6%57
  20. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.5%55
  21. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]1.5%54
  22. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.4%51

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year14.2%514
1 to 3 years31.8%1,152
4 to 7 years26.5%958
8 to 11 years16.3%590
12 years and over9.3%338
Age not given1.9%69

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)31.8%1,153
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)60%2,172
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)5.2%188
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3%108

Coloured bar: Havanese reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01836Apr 2021: 36May 2021: 14Jun 2021: 21Jul 2021: 25Aug 2021: 22Sep 2021: 19Oct 2021: 17Nov 2021: 13Dec 2021: 12Jan 2022: 102022Feb 2022: 12Mar 2022: 30Apr 2022: 20May 2022: 31Jun 2022: 16Jul 2022: 18Aug 2022: 23Sep 2022: 15Oct 2022: 17Nov 2022: 12Dec 2022: 15Jan 2023: 172023Feb 2023: 12Mar 2023: 19Apr 2023: 16May 2023: 18Jun 2023: 17Jul 2023: 20Aug 2023: 26Sep 2023: 13Oct 2023: 25Nov 2023: 15Dec 2023: 13Jan 2024: 182024Feb 2024: 16Mar 2024: 16Apr 2024: 24May 2024: 22Jun 2024: 26Jul 2024: 16Aug 2024: 19Sep 2024: 27Oct 2024: 22Nov 2024: 19Dec 2024: 13Jan 2025: 142025Feb 2025: 13Mar 2025: 10Apr 2025: 13May 2025: 31Jun 2025: 26Jul 2025: 26Aug 2025: 17Sep 2025: 28Oct 2025: 23Nov 2025: 23Dec 2025: 15Jan 2026: 142026Feb 2026: 19Mar 2026: 14

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal41.5%1,502
Recovered with Sequela2.1%76
Ongoing20.4%738
Died1.2%43
Euthanized0.9%33
Outcome Unknown26.7%967

Beside all dogs

MeasureHavaneseAll dogs
Reports3,621985,675
Latest 12 months24953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it36.2%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports2155

Questions about Havanese reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Havaneses?

3,621 reports through March 2026, 0.4% of reports about dogs; 249 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Havanese reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (600), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (508), fluralaner (341), afoxolaner (334) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (249). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (29.1%), lethargy (12%), diarrhoea (10.3%), emesis (9%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (5.3%).

Is the Havanese more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Havanese animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Havanese" becomes "Havanese"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.