Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Irish Soft-coated Wheaten" · single-breed animals only

1,754reports, 1990–20260.2% of dog reports
73reports, 12 months to March 202674 in the 12 months before
40.2%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13.6%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

1,754 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier (FDA breed label "Terrier - Irish Soft-coated Wheaten"). That is 0.2% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

73 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 74 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and fluralaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 13.6% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (27.3%), lethargy (9.4%) and diarrhoea (8.5%). Vomiting appears in 27.3% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.2% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate23813.6%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad21112%13.1%
Fluralaner1619.2%6.7%
Afoxolaner1397.9%5.7%
Oclacitinib1206.8%2.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1015.8%5.1%
Carprofen824.7%4.8%
Spinosad744.2%5.8%
Cyclosporine714%1.5%
Selamectin593.4%3%
Moxidectin543.1%5%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime382.2%2.7%
Sarolaner382.2%1.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel341.9%3.1%
Maropitant331.9%1.2%
Bedinvetmab321.8%1.9%
Milbemycin Oxime261.5%3%
Grapiprant201.1%0.8%
Lotilaner191.1%1%
Prednisone191.1%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting27.3%478
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.4%165
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.5%149
  4. Emesis[vomiting]7.5%132
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.6%99
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.5%97
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.6%80
  8. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.8%66
  9. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3%52
  10. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.7%47
  11. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.7%47
  12. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.6%45
  13. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.3%41
  14. Pruritus[itching]2.3%41
  15. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.2%39
  16. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.2%39
  17. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]2.2%38
  18. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.2%38
  19. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.1%36
  20. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.1%36
  21. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.1%36
  22. Deafness1.9%34
  23. Panting1.9%33
  24. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]1.7%30

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year10.4%182
1 to 3 years25.5%448
4 to 7 years25.6%449
8 to 11 years23.8%417
12 years and over13.2%231
Age not given1.5%27

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.4%24
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)5.5%96
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)86.2%1,512
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)3.7%65
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.1%1
Weight not given3.2%56

Coloured bar: Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0713Apr 2021: 6May 2021: 5Jun 2021: 9Jul 2021: 10Aug 2021: 11Sep 2021: 10Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 7Jan 2022: 52022Feb 2022: 7Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 10May 2022: 9Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 11Oct 2022: 11Nov 2022: 7Dec 2022: 4Jan 2023: 22023Feb 2023: 6Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 5May 2023: 6Jun 2023: 5Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 8Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 5Dec 2023: 6Jan 2024: 62024Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 9May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 8Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 9Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 6Jan 2025: 42025Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 8Apr 2025: 9May 2025: 13Jun 2025: 4Jul 2025: 6Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 7Oct 2025: 6Nov 2025: 6Dec 2025: 4Jan 2026: 32026Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 6

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal32.3%567
Recovered with Sequela2%35
Ongoing22.1%388
Died2.7%47
Euthanized1.4%25
Outcome Unknown21.2%372

Beside all dogs

MeasureIrish Soft-coated Wheaten TerrierAll dogs
Reports1,754985,675
Latest 12 months7353,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.2%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports4155

Questions about Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terriers?

1,754 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 73 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (238), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (211), fluralaner (161), afoxolaner (139) and oclacitinib (120). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (27.3%), lethargy (9.4%), diarrhoea (8.5%), emesis (7.5%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (5.6%).

Is the Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Irish Soft-coated Wheaten" becomes "Irish Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.