Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Chinese Crested Dog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Chinese Crested Dog (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

522reports, 1998–20260.1% of dog reports
23reports, 12 months to March 202619 in the 12 months before
36%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
12.3%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 522 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Chinese Crested Dog (unspecified)", shown here as Chinese Crested Dog: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

23 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 21% from 19 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and spinosad. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 12.3% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (24.1%), diarrhoea (9.6%) and lethargy (9.6%). Vomiting appears in 24.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 36% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Chinese Crested Dog reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate6412.3%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad5510.5%13.1%
Spinosad397.5%5.8%
Moxidectin377.1%5%
Afoxolaner336.3%5.7%
Pimobendan336.3%0.6%
Fluralaner295.6%6.7%
Oclacitinib244.6%2.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel214%3.1%
Selamectin203.8%3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner193.6%5.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime163.1%2.7%
Carprofen132.5%4.8%
Cefovecin sodium112.1%0.4%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride112.1%2.3%
Cyclosporine101.9%1.5%
Milbemycin Oxime91.7%3%
Maropitant81.5%1.2%
Nitenpyram81.5%1.1%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate71.3%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Chinese Crested Dog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting24.1%126
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.6%50
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.6%50
  4. Emesis[vomiting]6.3%33
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]6.1%32
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5%26
  7. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.2%22
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.2%22
  9. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4%21
  10. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.8%20
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.4%18
  12. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.1%16
  13. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.9%15
  14. Pruritus[itching]2.9%15
  15. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.7%14
  16. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.7%14
  17. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]2.3%12
  18. Death2.3%12
  19. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.3%12
  20. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2.1%11
  21. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.1%11
  22. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.9%10
  23. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]1.9%10

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year6.9%36
1 to 3 years23.8%124
4 to 7 years29.9%156
8 to 11 years19.3%101
12 years and over15.7%82
Age not given4.4%23

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)35.1%183
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)54.8%286
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)4.2%22
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.2%1
Weight not given5.7%30

Coloured bar: Chinese Crested Dog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

036Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 6Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 22022Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 3Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 22025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 2Jan 2026: 22026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal27.4%143
Recovered with Sequela1.9%10
Ongoing19.5%102
Died2.7%14
Euthanized1.3%7
Outcome Unknown23.8%124

Beside all dogs

MeasureChinese Crested DogAll dogs
Reports522985,675
Latest 12 months2353,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it36%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports40.255

Questions about Chinese Crested Dog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Chinese Crested Dogs?

522 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 23 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Chinese Crested Dog reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (64), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (55), spinosad (39), moxidectin (37) and afoxolaner (33). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (24.1%), diarrhoea (9.6%), lethargy (9.6%), emesis (6.3%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (6.1%).

Is the Chinese Crested Dog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Chinese Crested Dog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Chinese Crested Dog (unspecified)" becomes "Chinese Crested Dog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.