Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Treeing Feist: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Treeing Feist" · single-breed animals only

180reports, 2012–20260% of dog reports
9reports, 12 months to March 20266 in the 12 months before
29.4%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
51.7%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

180 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Treeing Feist (FDA breed label "Treeing Feist"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

9 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 50% from 6 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and afoxolaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 51.7% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (32.2%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (18.9%) and cardiac disorder NOS (11.7%). Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm appears in 32.2% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (5.4%). 29.4% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Treeing Feist reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate9351.7%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad2614.4%13.1%
Afoxolaner2011.1%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel147.8%3.1%
Spinosad95%5.8%
Lotilaner84.4%1%
Fluralaner73.9%6.7%
Nitenpyram63.3%1.1%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride52.8%2.3%
Moxidectin52.8%5%
Ivermectin31.7%1.3%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate21.1%0.8%
Phenobarbital21.1%0.2%
Amoxicillin Trihydrate + Clavulanate Potassium10.6%0.2%
Dexamethasone10.6%0.2%
Doxycycline10.6%0.4%
Imidacloprid10.6%0.5%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin10.6%1.3%
Minocycline10.6%0%
Potassium bromide10.6%0%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Treeing Feist reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]32.2%58
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]18.9%34
  3. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]11.7%21
  4. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]8.3%15
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]7.2%13
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]7.2%13
  7. Vomiting6.7%12
  8. Emesis[vomiting]5.6%10
  9. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]5.6%10
  10. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]4.4%8
  11. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3.3%6
  12. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]3.3%6
  13. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]2.2%4
  14. Underdose[less than the labelled amount was given]2.2%4
  15. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]1.7%3
  16. Itching1.7%3
  17. Lack of efficacy (tick)[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]1.7%3
  18. Anorexia[not eating]1.1%2
  19. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.1%2
  20. Drug dose omission[a scheduled administration was missed]1.1%2

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.3%15
1 to 3 years43.9%79
4 to 7 years22.2%40
8 to 11 years16.7%30
12 years and over8.3%15
Age not given0.6%1

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)8.3%15
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)33.3%60
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)57.8%104
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.6%1
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given0%0

Coloured bar: Treeing Feist reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 2Jul 2021: 3Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 2Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 12024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 2Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal15.6%28
Recovered with Sequela23.3%42
Ongoing7.8%14
Died0%0
Euthanized1.1%2
Outcome Unknown52.2%94

Beside all dogs

MeasureTreeing FeistAll dogs
Reports180985,675
Latest 12 months953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it29.4%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports11.155

Questions about Treeing Feist reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Treeing Feists?

180 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 9 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Treeing Feist reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (93), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (26), afoxolaner (20), milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (14) and spinosad (9). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (32.2%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (18.9%), cardiac disorder NOS (11.7%), lack of efficacy - NOS (8.3%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (7.2%).

Is the Treeing Feist more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Treeing Feist animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Treeing Feist" becomes "Treeing Feist"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.