Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Toy Poodle: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Poodle - Toy" · single-breed animals only

3,914reports, 2003–20260.4% of dog reports
209reports, 12 months to March 2026188 in the 12 months before
36.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
20.2%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

3,914 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Toy Poodle (FDA breed label "Poodle - Toy"). That is 0.4% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

209 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 11% from 188 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and afoxolaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 20.2% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (27.4%), lethargy (14.5%) and emesis (10.7%). Vomiting appears in 27.4% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 36.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Toy Poodle reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad79120.2%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate45411.6%14.9%
Afoxolaner39710.1%5.7%
Fluralaner3087.9%6.7%
Spinosad2085.3%5.8%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1824.6%5.1%
Moxidectin1473.8%5%
Oclacitinib1213.1%2.9%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate1062.7%0.9%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin1052.7%1.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime982.5%2.7%
Selamectin952.4%3%
Sarolaner922.4%1.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel882.2%3.1%
Maropitant721.8%1.2%
Nitenpyram681.7%1.1%
Trilostane601.5%1.2%
Meloxicam561.4%0.8%
Carprofen541.4%4.8%
Lotilaner541.4%1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Toy Poodle reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting27.4%1,072
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]14.5%568
  3. Emesis[vomiting]10.7%420
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.9%311
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]7.5%295
  6. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]6%235
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.4%174
  8. Anorexia[not eating]4%156
  9. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.6%141
  10. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.6%140
  11. Not eating3.3%129
  12. Shaking2.9%114
  13. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.8%109
  14. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.8%109
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.6%100
  16. Death2.1%84
  17. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]2.1%83
  18. Pruritus[itching]1.9%75
  19. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.8%70
  20. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.7%68
  21. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.7%66
  22. Tremor1.6%64
  23. Skin disorders NOS[NOS: not otherwise specified]1.6%63
  24. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.6%62

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year11%431
1 to 3 years24.7%968
4 to 7 years23.1%905
8 to 11 years21.4%839
12 years and over15.9%622
Age not given3.8%149

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)69.3%2,711
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)26.5%1,038
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)1.8%69
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%1
Weight not given2.4%95

Coloured bar: Toy Poodle reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01835Apr 2021: 18May 2021: 21Jun 2021: 18Jul 2021: 19Aug 2021: 35Sep 2021: 18Oct 2021: 18Nov 2021: 15Dec 2021: 6Jan 2022: 132022Feb 2022: 13Mar 2022: 18Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 18Jun 2022: 15Jul 2022: 16Aug 2022: 22Sep 2022: 15Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 16Dec 2022: 9Jan 2023: 112023Feb 2023: 11Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 13May 2023: 14Jun 2023: 14Jul 2023: 12Aug 2023: 11Sep 2023: 13Oct 2023: 20Nov 2023: 21Dec 2023: 7Jan 2024: 92024Feb 2024: 18Mar 2024: 15Apr 2024: 19May 2024: 25Jun 2024: 20Jul 2024: 24Aug 2024: 12Sep 2024: 16Oct 2024: 15Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 10Jan 2025: 82025Feb 2025: 13Mar 2025: 17Apr 2025: 24May 2025: 21Jun 2025: 13Jul 2025: 22Aug 2025: 26Sep 2025: 20Oct 2025: 17Nov 2025: 18Dec 2025: 11Jan 2026: 112026Feb 2026: 8Mar 2026: 18

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal43%1,682
Recovered with Sequela2.6%100
Ongoing20.7%812
Died2.4%94
Euthanized1.6%64
Outcome Unknown29.7%1,162

Beside all dogs

MeasureToy PoodleAll dogs
Reports3,914985,675
Latest 12 months20953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it36.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports40.455

Questions about Toy Poodle reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Toy Poodles?

3,914 reports through March 2026, 0.4% of reports about dogs; 209 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Toy Poodle reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (791), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (454), afoxolaner (397), fluralaner (308) and spinosad (208). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (27.4%), lethargy (14.5%), emesis (10.7%), diarrhoea (7.9%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (7.5%).

Is the Toy Poodle more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Toy Poodle animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Poodle - Toy" becomes "Toy Poodle"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.