Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

French Bulldog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Bulldog - French" · single-breed animals only

7,255reports, 1988–20260.7% of dog reports
854reports, 12 months to March 2026736 in the 12 months before
39.1%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
16.3%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

7,255 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as French Bulldog (FDA breed label "Bulldog - French"). That is 0.7% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

854 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 16% from 736 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, fluralaner and oclacitinib. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 16.3% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (28.1%), lethargy (10.4%) and emesis (8.7%). Vomiting appears in 28.1% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 39.1% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of French Bulldog reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1,18116.3%13.1%
Fluralaner78510.8%6.7%
Oclacitinib74710.3%2.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner6098.4%5.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate5607.7%14.9%
Afoxolaner5077%5.7%
Moxidectin4386%5%
Spinosad3294.5%5.8%
Cyclosporine2363.3%1.5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel2142.9%3.1%
Maropitant2052.8%1.2%
Carprofen1432%4.8%
Diphenhydramine1411.9%0.5%
Sarolaner1411.9%1.7%
Lotilaner1331.8%1%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1181.6%0.8%
Prednisone1161.6%0.9%
Bedinvetmab931.3%1.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime931.3%2.7%
Tigilanol tiglate861.2%0.2%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of French Bulldog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting28.1%2,039
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]10.4%756
  3. Emesis[vomiting]8.7%634
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.2%595
  5. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]5.5%398
  6. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.7%343
  7. Hives4.1%296
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.8%279
  9. Anorexia[not eating]3.5%256
  10. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]3.4%248
  11. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]2.8%206
  12. Shaking2.7%193
  13. Death2.5%180
  14. Not eating2.4%173
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.2%163
  16. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]2.2%157
  17. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.1%155
  18. Panting2.1%155
  19. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2%142
  20. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.9%139
  21. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.8%133
  22. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]1.8%128
  23. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]1.5%112

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year21.2%1,539
1 to 3 years40.3%2,921
4 to 7 years23.7%1,718
8 to 11 years10.2%738
12 years and over1.5%111
Age not given3.1%228

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)4.5%325
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)27.6%2,006
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)63.2%4,587
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.2%11
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%1
Weight not given4.5%325

Coloured bar: French Bulldog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

04793Apr 2021: 54May 2021: 44Jun 2021: 49Jul 2021: 41Aug 2021: 56Sep 2021: 29Oct 2021: 45Nov 2021: 36Dec 2021: 22Jan 2022: 242022Feb 2022: 38Mar 2022: 44Apr 2022: 39May 2022: 49Jun 2022: 36Jul 2022: 55Aug 2022: 41Sep 2022: 40Oct 2022: 36Nov 2022: 46Dec 2022: 31Jan 2023: 482023Feb 2023: 36Mar 2023: 34Apr 2023: 45May 2023: 50Jun 2023: 46Jul 2023: 50Aug 2023: 56Sep 2023: 33Oct 2023: 55Nov 2023: 43Dec 2023: 36Jan 2024: 462024Feb 2024: 48Mar 2024: 53Apr 2024: 57May 2024: 75Jun 2024: 67Jul 2024: 77Aug 2024: 83Sep 2024: 64Oct 2024: 67Nov 2024: 54Dec 2024: 43Jan 2025: 512025Feb 2025: 47Mar 2025: 51Apr 2025: 60May 2025: 93Jun 2025: 72Jul 2025: 87Aug 2025: 73Sep 2025: 85Oct 2025: 73Nov 2025: 68Dec 2025: 64Jan 2026: 742026Feb 2026: 65Mar 2026: 40

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal37.5%2,720
Recovered with Sequela2%146
Ongoing28.9%2,096
Died2.9%208
Euthanized1.7%121
Outcome Unknown21.4%1,553

Beside all dogs

MeasureFrench BulldogAll dogs
Reports7,255985,675
Latest 12 months85453,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it39.1%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports45.355

Questions about French Bulldog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve French Bulldogs?

7,255 reports through March 2026, 0.7% of reports about dogs; 854 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in French Bulldog reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (1,181), fluralaner (785), oclacitinib (747), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (609) and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (560). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (28.1%), lethargy (10.4%), emesis (8.7%), diarrhoea (8.2%) and seizure NOS (5.5%).

Is the French Bulldog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many French Bulldog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Bulldog - French" becomes "French Bulldog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.