Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Foxhound: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Foxhound (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

158reports, 1993–20260% of dog reports
19reports, 12 months to March 20269 in the 12 months before
42.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
10.8%name pyrantel pamoate + sarolanerall dogs: 5.1%

FDA's database holds 158 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Foxhound (unspecified)", shown here as Foxhound: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

19 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 111% from 9 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and milbemycin oxime + spinosad. Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner is named in 10.8% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (5.1%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (23.4%), vomiting (18.4%) and diarrhoea (8.9%). Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm appears in 23.4% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (5%). 42.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Foxhound reportsShare of all dog reports
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1710.8%5.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1610.1%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1610.1%13.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel159.5%3.1%
Carprofen95.7%4.8%
Ivermectin95.7%1.3%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride95.7%2.3%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin85.1%1.3%
Moxidectin85.1%5%
Fenbendazole74.4%0.3%
Oclacitinib63.8%2.9%
Spinosad63.8%5.8%
Afoxolaner53.2%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime53.2%3%
Selamectin53.2%3%
Cyclosporine42.5%1.5%
Prednisone42.5%0.9%
Albendazole31.9%0%
Febantel + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate31.9%0.7%
Lotilaner31.9%1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Foxhound reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]23.4%37
  2. Vomiting18.4%29
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.9%14
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.6%12
  5. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]7%11
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]6.3%10
  7. Anorexia[not eating]5.7%9
  8. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]5.1%8
  9. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]4.4%7
  10. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]3.8%6
  11. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]3.8%6
  12. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]3.8%6
  13. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]3.2%5
  14. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.5%4
  15. Hypersalivation[drooling]2.5%4
  16. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]2.5%4
  17. Nausea2.5%4
  18. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.5%4
  19. Panting2.5%4
  20. Death1.9%3
  21. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.9%3
  22. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.9%3
  23. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.9%3

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year4.4%7
1 to 3 years35.4%56
4 to 7 years29.7%47
8 to 11 years20.3%32
12 years and over4.4%7
Age not given5.7%9

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.9%3
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.5%4
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)50%79
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)36.1%57
45 kg and over (99 lb+)2.5%4
Weight not given7%11

Coloured bar: Foxhound reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

036Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 32022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 6Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 3Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal14.6%23
Recovered with Sequela0.6%1
Ongoing25.9%41
Died2.5%4
Euthanized1.3%2
Outcome Unknown25.9%41

Beside all dogs

MeasureFoxhoundAll dogs
Reports158985,675
Latest 12 months1953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it42.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports3855

Questions about Foxhound reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Foxhounds?

158 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 19 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Foxhound reports?

By active ingredient: pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (17), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (16), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (16), milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (15) and carprofen (9). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (23.4%), vomiting (18.4%), diarrhoea (8.9%), lethargy (7.6%) and depression (7%).

Is the Foxhound more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Foxhound animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Foxhound (unspecified)" becomes "Foxhound"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.