Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

French Wire-haired Pointing Griffon: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Griffon - French Wire-haired Pointing" · single-breed animals only

238reports, 1989–20260% of dog reports
18reports, 12 months to March 202625 in the 12 months before
46.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
22.7%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 238 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Griffon - French Wire-haired Pointing", shown here as French Wire-haired Pointing Griffon: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

18 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 28% from 25 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, fluralaner and afoxolaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 22.7% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (17.6%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (10.1%) and lethargy (9.2%). Vomiting appears in 17.6% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 46.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of French Wire-haired Pointing Griffon reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate5422.7%14.9%
Fluralaner2912.2%6.7%
Afoxolaner2711.3%5.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner218.8%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad208.4%13.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel135.5%3.1%
Bedinvetmab114.6%1.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime93.8%2.7%
Moxidectin83.4%5%
Milbemycin Oxime72.9%3%
Sarolaner72.9%1.7%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate62.5%0.8%
Carprofen41.7%4.8%
Fluoxetine hydrochloride41.7%0.3%
Grapiprant41.7%0.8%
(S) - methoprene41.7%0.6%
Doxycycline31.3%0.4%
Meloxicam31.3%0.8%
Ampicillin Sodium20.8%0%
Cefpodoxime proxetil20.8%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of French Wire-haired Pointing Griffon reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting17.6%42
  2. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]10.1%24
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.2%22
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.4%20
  5. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]5.9%14
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]5.5%13
  7. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]5%12
  8. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]4.6%11
  9. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]4.6%11
  10. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]4.6%11
  11. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]4.2%10
  12. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]4.2%10
  13. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.4%8
  14. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.5%6
  15. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]2.5%6
  16. Panting2.5%6
  17. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.5%6
  18. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.5%6
  19. Anorexia[not eating]2.1%5
  20. Anxiety2.1%5
  21. Emesis[vomiting]2.1%5
  22. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]2.1%5
  23. Leucocytosis NOS[high white blood cell count]2.1%5

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year14.7%35
1 to 3 years36.6%87
4 to 7 years23.5%56
8 to 11 years16%38
12 years and over6.7%16
Age not given2.5%6

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)4.6%11
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)33.2%79
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)58%138
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.4%1
Weight not given3.8%9

Coloured bar: French Wire-haired Pointing Griffon reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

048Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 2Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 8Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 52025Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 3Jan 2026: 22026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal22.3%53
Recovered with Sequela2.5%6
Ongoing29.8%71
Died1.3%3
Euthanized0%0
Outcome Unknown33.6%80

Beside all dogs

MeasureFrench Wire-haired Pointing GriffonAll dogs
Reports238985,675
Latest 12 months1853,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it46.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports12.655

Questions about French Wire-haired Pointing Griffon reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve French Wire-haired Pointing Griffons?

238 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 18 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in French Wire-haired Pointing Griffon reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (54), fluralaner (29), afoxolaner (27), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (21) and milbemycin oxime + spinosad (20). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (17.6%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (10.1%), lethargy (9.2%), diarrhoea (8.4%) and digestive tract disorder NOS (5.9%).

Is the French Wire-haired Pointing Griffon more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many French Wire-haired Pointing Griffon animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Griffon - French Wire-haired Pointing" becomes "French Wire-haired Pointing Griffon"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.