Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Fox Wire Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Fox Wire" · single-breed animals only

394reports, 2003–20260% of dog reports
17reports, 12 months to March 202623 in the 12 months before
39.8%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
20.6%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 394 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier - Fox Wire", shown here as Fox Wire Terrier: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

17 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 26% from 23 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and afoxolaner. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 20.6% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.8%), lethargy (13.7%) and diarrhoea (6.9%). Vomiting appears in 21.8% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 39.8% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Fox Wire Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad8120.6%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate4711.9%14.9%
Afoxolaner338.4%5.7%
Oclacitinib338.4%2.9%
Fluralaner307.6%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel215.3%3.1%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner184.6%5.1%
Cyclosporine164.1%1.5%
Trilostane143.6%1.2%
Spinosad133.3%5.8%
Carprofen112.8%4.8%
Moxidectin112.8%5%
Selamectin92.3%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime82%2.7%
Bedinvetmab71.8%1.9%
Sarolaner71.8%1.7%
Maropitant61.5%1.2%
Tramadol61.5%0.4%
Milbemycin Oxime51.3%3%
Nitenpyram51.3%1.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Fox Wire Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.8%86
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]13.7%54
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]6.9%27
  4. Emesis[vomiting]6.3%25
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]5.8%23
  6. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.8%19
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.8%19
  8. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.3%17
  9. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4.1%16
  10. Shaking4.1%16
  11. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.8%15
  12. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.8%15
  13. Anorexia[not eating]3.6%14
  14. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.6%14
  15. Death3%12
  16. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3%12
  17. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.8%11
  18. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.8%11
  19. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2.5%10
  20. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2%8
  21. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2%8
  22. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]2%8
  23. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]1.8%7

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year5.6%22
1 to 3 years26.4%104
4 to 7 years29.2%115
8 to 11 years21.6%85
12 years and over15.7%62
Age not given1.5%6

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)5.1%20
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)59.1%233
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)31.7%125
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.5%2
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.6%14

Coloured bar: Fox Wire Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

047Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 1Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 6Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 5Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 7May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 4Jan 2024: 42024Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 22025Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 3Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal34%134
Recovered with Sequela2.8%11
Ongoing25.1%99
Died3%12
Euthanized3%12
Outcome Unknown32%126

Beside all dogs

MeasureFox Wire TerrierAll dogs
Reports394985,675
Latest 12 months1753,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it39.8%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports60.955

Questions about Fox Wire Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Fox Wire Terriers?

394 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 17 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Fox Wire Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (81), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (47), afoxolaner (33), oclacitinib (33) and fluralaner (30). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.8%), lethargy (13.7%), diarrhoea (6.9%), emesis (6.3%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (5.8%).

Is the Fox Wire Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Fox Wire Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Fox Wire" becomes "Fox Wire Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.