Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Fox Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Fox (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

1,220reports, 1987–20260.1% of dog reports
15reports, 12 months to March 202624 in the 12 months before
40%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 1,220 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier - Fox (unspecified)", shown here as Fox Terrier: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

15 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 37% from 24 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and carprofen. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 13% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (24.1%), diarrhoea (9.3%) and depression (8.9%). Vomiting appears in 24.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Fox Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate15813%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad917.5%13.1%
Carprofen846.9%4.8%
Afoxolaner826.7%5.7%
Spinosad816.6%5.8%
Cyclosporine725.9%1.5%
Selamectin725.9%3%
Moxidectin494%5%
Oclacitinib483.9%2.9%
Fluralaner473.9%6.7%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime332.7%2.7%
Milbemycin Oxime332.7%3%
Selegiline Hydrochloride292.4%0.4%
Ivermectin231.9%1.3%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin221.8%1.3%
Insulin191.6%0.7%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride191.6%2.3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner171.4%5.1%
Betamethasone Valerate + Clotrimazole + Gentamicin Sulfate161.3%0.2%
Sarolaner161.3%1.7%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Fox Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting24.1%294
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.3%114
  3. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]8.9%109
  4. Anorexia[not eating]8.1%99
  5. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.2%76
  6. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]5.5%67
  7. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]5.4%66
  8. Emesis[vomiting]4.7%57
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.5%55
  10. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]4.3%53
  11. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]3.9%48
  12. Pruritus[itching]3.9%48
  13. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]3.9%47
  14. Death3.4%41
  15. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.3%40
  16. Convulsion[seizure]3.2%39
  17. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]3%37
  18. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.7%33
  19. Trembling2.7%33
  20. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.4%29
  21. Deafness2.3%28
  22. Fever2.3%28
  23. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]2.2%27
  24. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.1%26
  25. Anaemia NOS[low red blood cell count]2%25

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year6.5%79
1 to 3 years20.4%249
4 to 7 years26.9%328
8 to 11 years24.7%301
12 years and over17.9%218
Age not given3.7%45

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)20.6%251
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)50%610
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)24.8%302
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.6%7
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.1%1
Weight not given4%49

Coloured bar: Fox Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

048Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 2Aug 2021: 3Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 12022Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 8May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 3Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 4Jan 2025: 22025Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 2Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 2

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal18.3%223
Recovered with Sequela2.9%35
Ongoing10.4%127
Died5%61
Euthanized1.6%19
Outcome Unknown15.5%189

Beside all dogs

MeasureFox TerrierAll dogs
Reports1,220985,675
Latest 12 months1553,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports65.655

Questions about Fox Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Fox Terriers?

1,220 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 15 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Fox Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (158), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (91), carprofen (84), afoxolaner (82) and spinosad (81). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (24.1%), diarrhoea (9.3%), depression (8.9%), anorexia (8.1%) and lethargy (6.2%).

Is the Fox Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Fox Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Fox (unspecified)" becomes "Fox Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.