Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Basset Hound: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Hound - Basset" · single-breed animals only

4,507reports, 1987–20260.5% of dog reports
147reports, 12 months to March 2026164 in the 12 months before
38.1%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.4%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 4,507 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Hound - Basset", shown here as Basset Hound: 0.5% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

147 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 10% from 164 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and spinosad. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 17.4% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (20.2%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (13.2%) and emesis (7.4%). Vomiting appears in 20.2% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 38.1% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Basset Hound reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate78317.4%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad63714.1%13.1%
Spinosad2886.4%5.8%
Carprofen2726%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime2204.9%3%
Fluralaner2014.5%6.7%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1904.2%2.3%
Moxidectin1824%5%
Afoxolaner1643.6%5.7%
Selamectin1603.6%3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1573.5%5.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1503.3%2.7%
Oclacitinib1182.6%2.9%
Cyclosporine1152.6%1.5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1082.4%3.1%
Deracoxib681.5%1.1%
Ivermectin641.4%1.3%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin481.1%1.3%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate481.1%0.9%
Nitenpyram390.9%1.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Basset Hound reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting20.2%910
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]13.2%595
  3. Emesis[vomiting]7.4%335
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.4%332
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]6.6%298
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.8%260
  7. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.5%247
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]5.3%240
  9. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.7%210
  10. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.6%207
  11. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.5%157
  12. Death3%134
  13. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.8%127
  14. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.6%118
  15. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.4%108
  16. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.3%103
  17. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.1%95
  18. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2%90
  19. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]1.9%85
  20. Pruritus[itching]1.8%79
  21. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.7%78
  22. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]1.7%76
  23. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.6%70
  24. Leucocytosis NOS[high white blood cell count]1.5%69

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year9.9%444
1 to 3 years27.9%1,257
4 to 7 years28.8%1,297
8 to 11 years21.5%971
12 years and over8.9%401
Age not given3%137

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.9%42
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.7%123
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)55.8%2,515
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)36.5%1,645
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.3%13
Weight not given3.7%169

Coloured bar: Basset Hound reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01223Apr 2021: 14May 2021: 17Jun 2021: 14Jul 2021: 19Aug 2021: 11Sep 2021: 11Oct 2021: 14Nov 2021: 9Dec 2021: 6Jan 2022: 92022Feb 2022: 6Mar 2022: 12Apr 2022: 10May 2022: 17Jun 2022: 11Jul 2022: 20Aug 2022: 14Sep 2022: 20Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 13Dec 2022: 3Jan 2023: 102023Feb 2023: 13Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 13May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 12Jul 2023: 14Aug 2023: 9Sep 2023: 10Oct 2023: 15Nov 2023: 11Dec 2023: 6Jan 2024: 112024Feb 2024: 14Mar 2024: 7Apr 2024: 16May 2024: 17Jun 2024: 23Jul 2024: 13Aug 2024: 14Sep 2024: 15Oct 2024: 12Nov 2024: 13Dec 2024: 9Jan 2025: 162025Feb 2025: 11Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 10May 2025: 15Jun 2025: 17Jul 2025: 14Aug 2025: 18Sep 2025: 9Oct 2025: 14Nov 2025: 10Dec 2025: 9Jan 2026: 132026Feb 2026: 8Mar 2026: 10

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal21.2%957
Recovered with Sequela3%137
Ongoing15%674
Died4.5%203
Euthanized1.2%56
Outcome Unknown22.3%1,005

Beside all dogs

MeasureBasset HoundAll dogs
Reports4,507985,675
Latest 12 months14753,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it38.1%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports57.555

Questions about Basset Hound reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Basset Hounds?

4,507 reports through March 2026, 0.5% of reports about dogs; 147 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Basset Hound reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (783), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (637), spinosad (288), carprofen (272) and milbemycin oxime (220). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (20.2%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (13.2%), emesis (7.4%), lethargy (7.4%) and diarrhoea (6.6%).

Is the Basset Hound more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Basset Hound animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Hound - Basset" becomes "Basset Hound"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.