Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Bearded Collie: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Collie - Bearded" · single-breed animals only

249reports, 1994–20250% of dog reports
4reports, 12 months to March 202614 in the 12 months before
42.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
15.3%name carprofenall dogs: 4.8%

249 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Bearded Collie (FDA breed label "Collie - Bearded"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

4 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 71% from 14 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are carprofen, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and lufenuron + milbemycin oxime. Carprofen is named in 15.3% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (4.8%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (16.1%), diarrhoea (12.4%) and lethargy (6%). Vomiting appears in 16.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 42.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Bearded Collie reportsShare of all dog reports
Carprofen3815.3%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad2610.4%13.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime208%2.7%
Bedinvetmab135.2%1.9%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate135.2%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime135.2%3%
Selamectin124.8%3%
Fluralaner114.4%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel114.4%3.1%
Moxidectin93.6%5%
Desoxycorticosterone Pivalate83.2%0.2%
Cyclosporine62.4%1.5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner62.4%5.1%
Deracoxib52%1.1%
Enrofloxacin52%0.4%
Prednisone52%0.9%
Selegiline Hydrochloride52%0.4%
Cefovecin sodium41.6%0.4%
Grapiprant41.6%0.8%
Levothyroxine sodium41.6%0.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Bearded Collie reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting16.1%40
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]12.4%31
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6%15
  4. Emesis[vomiting]5.6%14
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.2%13
  6. Deafness4.4%11
  7. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]4.4%11
  8. Anorexia[not eating]4%10
  9. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]4%10
  10. Death3.6%9
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.6%9
  12. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]3.2%8
  13. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.2%8
  14. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.2%8
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.8%7
  16. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]2.8%7
  17. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.8%7
  18. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2.4%6
  19. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2.4%6
  20. Haematuria[blood in the urine]2.4%6
  21. Inappetence[reduced appetite]2.4%6
  22. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.4%6
  23. Thrombocytopenia[low platelet count]2.4%6

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year6%15
1 to 3 years14.5%36
4 to 7 years20.1%50
8 to 11 years24.1%60
12 years and over30.9%77
Age not given4.4%11

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.4%1
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.2%3
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)56.6%141
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)36.1%90
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given5.6%14

Coloured bar: Bearded Collie reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

036Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 22023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 12024Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 6Jan 2025: 12025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal16.5%41
Recovered with Sequela2.4%6
Ongoing14.1%35
Died6.8%17
Euthanized1.6%4
Outcome Unknown18.9%47

Beside all dogs

MeasureBearded CollieAll dogs
Reports249985,675
Latest 12 months453,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it42.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports84.355

Questions about Bearded Collie reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Bearded Collies?

249 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 4 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Bearded Collie reports?

By active ingredient: carprofen (38), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (26), lufenuron + milbemycin oxime (20), bedinvetmab (13) and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (13). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (16.1%), diarrhoea (12.4%), lethargy (6%), emesis (5.6%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (5.2%).

Is the Bearded Collie more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Bearded Collie animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Collie - Bearded" becomes "Bearded Collie"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.