Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Australian Kelpie: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Australian Kelpie" · single-breed animals only

109reports, 2011–20260% of dog reports
12reports, 12 months to March 202611 in the 12 months before
28.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
25.7%name afoxolanerall dogs: 5.7%

FDA's database holds 109 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Australian Kelpie", shown here as Australian Kelpie: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

12 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 11 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are afoxolaner, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and fluralaner. Afoxolaner is named in 25.7% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (5.7%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (18.3%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (14.7%) and seizure NOS (11%). Vomiting appears in 18.3% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 28.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Australian Kelpie reportsShare of all dog reports
Afoxolaner2825.7%5.7%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1311.9%14.9%
Fluralaner76.4%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel76.4%3.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad76.4%13.1%
Moxidectin76.4%5%
Sarolaner54.6%1.7%
Spinosad54.6%5.8%
Bedinvetmab43.7%1.9%
Ivermectin43.7%1.3%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner43.7%5.1%
Selamectin43.7%3%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride32.8%2.3%
Trilostane32.8%1.2%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate21.8%0.8%
Carprofen21.8%4.8%
Cyclosporine21.8%1.5%
Dexmedetomidine hydrochloride21.8%0.4%
Maropitant21.8%1.2%
Nitenpyram21.8%1.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Australian Kelpie reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting18.3%20
  2. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]14.7%16
  3. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]11%12
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]10.1%11
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.3%9
  6. Inappetence[reduced appetite]6.4%7
  7. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]5.5%6
  8. Pruritus[itching]4.6%5
  9. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.7%4
  10. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.7%4
  11. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.7%4
  12. Malaise[generally unwell]3.7%4
  13. Anorexia[not eating]2.8%3
  14. Emesis[vomiting]2.8%3
  15. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.8%3
  16. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]2.8%3
  17. Adipsia[not drinking]1.8%2
  18. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.8%2
  19. Hot spot (pyotraumatic dermatitis)[moist, inflamed patch of skin]1.8%2
  20. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]1.8%2

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year5.5%6
1 to 3 years35.8%39
4 to 7 years22.9%25
8 to 11 years17.4%19
12 years and over11.9%13
Age not given6.4%7

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0%0
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)69.7%76
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)25.7%28
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given4.6%5

Coloured bar: Australian Kelpie reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

012Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 2Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 22026Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal32.1%35
Recovered with Sequela5.5%6
Ongoing25.7%28
Died1.8%2
Euthanized0.9%1
Outcome Unknown33.9%37

Beside all dogs

MeasureAustralian KelpieAll dogs
Reports109985,675
Latest 12 months1253,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it28.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports27.555

Questions about Australian Kelpie reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Australian Kelpies?

109 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 12 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Australian Kelpie reports?

By active ingredient: afoxolaner (28), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (13), fluralaner (7), milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (7) and milbemycin oxime + spinosad (7). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (18.3%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (14.7%), seizure NOS (11%), lethargy (10.1%) and diarrhoea (8.3%).

Is the Australian Kelpie more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Australian Kelpie animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Australian Kelpie" becomes "Australian Kelpie"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.