Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Beagle: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Beagle" · single-breed animals only

16,322reports, 1987–20261.7% of dog reports
626reports, 12 months to March 2026706 in the 12 months before
40.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
19.9%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

16,322 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Beagle (FDA breed label "Beagle"). That is 1.7% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

626 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 11% from 706 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and moxidectin. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 19.9% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (16.6%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (10.1%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (9.1%). Vomiting appears in 16.6% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 40.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Beagle reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate3,25119.9%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1,66710.2%13.1%
Moxidectin9225.6%5%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride8105%2.3%
Fluralaner8074.9%6.7%
Afoxolaner7494.6%5.7%
Milbemycin Oxime7284.5%3%
Carprofen6644.1%4.8%
Spinosad6293.9%5.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime6263.8%2.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner6203.8%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel5443.3%3.1%
Selamectin4542.8%3%
Oclacitinib4112.5%2.9%
Trilostane3632.2%1.2%
Cyclosporine2701.7%1.5%
Sarolaner2681.6%1.7%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate2171.3%0.9%
Ivermectin2021.2%1.3%
Dirlotapide1851.1%0.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Beagle reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting16.6%2,710
  2. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]10.1%1,647
  3. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]9.1%1,488
  4. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]6.4%1,045
  5. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]6.4%1,040
  6. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]6.1%992
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.2%852
  8. Emesis[vomiting]4.9%799
  9. Anorexia[not eating]4.4%725
  10. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3.7%599
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.6%589
  12. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]3.3%531
  13. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3%494
  14. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.9%480
  15. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.5%415
  16. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.4%398
  17. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2.4%391
  18. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.2%364
  19. Death2%320
  20. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]1.9%318
  21. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.8%301
  22. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.8%290
  23. Cardiac disorder NOS[heart problem, type not specified]1.7%283
  24. Ineffective, heartworm adults[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm adults)]1.7%275
  25. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]1.6%269

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year8.7%1,414
1 to 3 years28.8%4,696
4 to 7 years27.9%4,551
8 to 11 years21.1%3,438
12 years and over10.7%1,741
Age not given3%482

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)2.3%372
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)16.4%2,682
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)75.2%12,274
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)2.3%372
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%3
Weight not given3.8%619

Coloured bar: Beagle reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

04487Apr 2021: 87May 2021: 78Jun 2021: 52Jul 2021: 71Aug 2021: 52Sep 2021: 62Oct 2021: 60Nov 2021: 54Dec 2021: 48Jan 2022: 482022Feb 2022: 47Mar 2022: 70Apr 2022: 47May 2022: 77Jun 2022: 50Jul 2022: 63Aug 2022: 52Sep 2022: 42Oct 2022: 54Nov 2022: 53Dec 2022: 41Jan 2023: 462023Feb 2023: 35Mar 2023: 38Apr 2023: 62May 2023: 68Jun 2023: 69Jul 2023: 37Aug 2023: 87Sep 2023: 72Oct 2023: 82Nov 2023: 62Dec 2023: 48Jan 2024: 652024Feb 2024: 54Mar 2024: 67Apr 2024: 62May 2024: 81Jun 2024: 68Jul 2024: 63Aug 2024: 76Sep 2024: 76Oct 2024: 40Nov 2024: 49Dec 2024: 53Jan 2025: 582025Feb 2025: 48Mar 2025: 32Apr 2025: 72May 2025: 67Jun 2025: 57Jul 2025: 50Aug 2025: 55Sep 2025: 47Oct 2025: 63Nov 2025: 41Dec 2025: 42Jan 2026: 472026Feb 2026: 45Mar 2026: 40

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal20.8%3,387
Recovered with Sequela3.6%582
Ongoing18.1%2,959
Died3.1%506
Euthanized1.7%271
Outcome Unknown26.9%4,390

Beside all dogs

MeasureBeagleAll dogs
Reports16,322985,675
Latest 12 months62653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it40.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports47.455

Questions about Beagle reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Beagles?

16,322 reports through March 2026, 1.7% of reports about dogs; 626 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Beagle reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (3,251), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (1,667), moxidectin (922), melarsomine dihydrochloride (810) and fluralaner (807). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (16.6%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (10.1%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (9.1%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (6.4%) and lethargy (6.4%).

Is the Beagle more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Beagle animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Beagle" becomes "Beagle"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.