Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

5,784reports, 2001–20260.6% of dog reports
360reports, 12 months to March 2026352 in the 12 months before
41.4%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17.4%name fluralanerall dogs: 6.7%

FDA's database holds 5,784 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier (unspecified)", shown here as Terrier: 0.6% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

360 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 352 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are fluralaner, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Fluralaner is named in 17.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (6.7%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (20.3%), emesis (12%) and lethargy (11.2%). Vomiting appears in 20.3% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 41.4% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Fluralaner1,00617.4%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad91015.7%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate5689.8%14.9%
Spinosad4718.1%5.8%
Moxidectin3986.9%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner2915%5.1%
Afoxolaner2614.5%5.7%
Oclacitinib2504.3%2.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime2143.7%2.7%
Sarolaner1843.2%1.7%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1182%2.3%
Insulin1132%0.7%
Bedinvetmab1091.9%1.9%
Selamectin1071.8%3%
Carprofen1021.8%4.8%
Ivermectin981.7%1.3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel891.5%3.1%
Maropitant861.5%1.2%
Milbemycin Oxime821.4%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel781.3%0.7%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting20.3%1,176
  2. Emesis[vomiting]12%693
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]11.2%646
  4. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]6.7%387
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]6.4%368
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.7%332
  7. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]5.1%297
  8. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.8%276
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.7%212
  10. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]3.5%202
  11. Anorexia[not eating]2.9%170
  12. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.8%164
  13. Not eating2.5%145
  14. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.3%133
  15. Shaking2.1%123
  16. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.1%119
  17. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.9%110
  18. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.8%104
  19. Panting1.8%104
  20. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.8%102
  21. Pruritus[itching]1.7%100
  22. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]1.7%96
  23. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]1.6%94
  24. Death1.6%92

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year7.4%427
1 to 3 years30.5%1,763
4 to 7 years26.4%1,527
8 to 11 years19.6%1,136
12 years and over13.5%782
Age not given2.6%149

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)14.3%826
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)41%2,373
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)35.2%2,036
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)6.9%399
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.4%24
Weight not given2.2%126

Coloured bar: Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02550Apr 2021: 33May 2021: 32Jun 2021: 33Jul 2021: 46Aug 2021: 50Sep 2021: 24Oct 2021: 27Nov 2021: 25Dec 2021: 27Jan 2022: 152022Feb 2022: 20Mar 2022: 23Apr 2022: 24May 2022: 21Jun 2022: 8Jul 2022: 20Aug 2022: 22Sep 2022: 15Oct 2022: 22Nov 2022: 14Dec 2022: 15Jan 2023: 142023Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 15Apr 2023: 18May 2023: 24Jun 2023: 26Jul 2023: 16Aug 2023: 22Sep 2023: 15Oct 2023: 43Nov 2023: 30Dec 2023: 17Jan 2024: 252024Feb 2024: 39Mar 2024: 39Apr 2024: 26May 2024: 31Jun 2024: 35Jul 2024: 26Aug 2024: 27Sep 2024: 37Oct 2024: 35Nov 2024: 30Dec 2024: 25Jan 2025: 292025Feb 2025: 27Mar 2025: 24Apr 2025: 42May 2025: 33Jun 2025: 38Jul 2025: 33Aug 2025: 33Sep 2025: 42Oct 2025: 37Nov 2025: 21Dec 2025: 14Jan 2026: 222026Feb 2026: 26Mar 2026: 19

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal38.2%2,211
Recovered with Sequela3.7%215
Ongoing30.6%1,768
Died1.8%105
Euthanized1.8%106
Outcome Unknown23.8%1,376

Beside all dogs

MeasureTerrierAll dogs
Reports5,784985,675
Latest 12 months36053,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it41.4%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports36.555

Questions about Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Terriers?

5,784 reports through March 2026, 0.6% of reports about dogs; 360 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: fluralaner (1,006), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (910), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (568), spinosad (471) and moxidectin (398). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (20.3%), emesis (12%), lethargy (11.2%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (6.7%) and diarrhoea (6.4%).

Is the Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier (unspecified)" becomes "Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.