Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Italian Greyhound: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Greyhound - Italian" · single-breed animals only

980reports, 1991–20260.1% of dog reports
26reports, 12 months to March 202646 in the 12 months before
39.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
15%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

980 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Italian Greyhound (FDA breed label "Greyhound - Italian"). That is 0.1% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

26 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 43% from 46 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and spinosad. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 15% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (25.7%), emesis (9.9%) and lethargy (9.2%). Vomiting appears in 25.7% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 39.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Italian Greyhound reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad14715%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate11011.2%14.9%
Spinosad878.9%5.8%
Moxidectin596%5%
Carprofen474.8%4.8%
Fluralaner454.6%6.7%
Milbemycin Oxime424.3%3%
Afoxolaner343.5%5.7%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime333.4%2.7%
Selamectin323.3%3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel272.8%3.1%
Maropitant252.6%1.2%
Cyclosporine232.3%1.5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner222.2%5.1%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin191.9%1.3%
Sarolaner191.9%1.7%
Meloxicam161.6%0.8%
Prednisone161.6%0.9%
Febantel + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate151.5%0.7%
Oclacitinib151.5%2.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Italian Greyhound reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting25.7%252
  2. Emesis[vomiting]9.9%97
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.2%90
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.3%81
  5. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]5.8%57
  6. Anorexia[not eating]5.7%56
  7. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4.4%43
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.4%43
  9. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4%39
  10. Convulsion[seizure]3.8%37
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]3.8%37
  12. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.8%37
  13. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.1%30
  14. Fever2.8%27
  15. Shaking2.8%27
  16. Leucocytosis NOS[high white blood cell count]2.3%23
  17. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.2%22
  18. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.2%22
  19. Pruritus[itching]2.1%21
  20. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2%20
  21. Urticaria[hives]2%20
  22. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.9%19

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year10.5%103
1 to 3 years25.6%251
4 to 7 years29.4%288
8 to 11 years19.1%187
12 years and over11.6%114
Age not given3.8%37

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)25.8%253
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)60.6%594
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)9.4%92
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.9%9
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.1%1
Weight not given3.2%31

Coloured bar: Italian Greyhound reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

047Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 6Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 7Aug 2021: 4Sep 2021: 4Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 4Jan 2022: 12022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 5Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 2Jan 2023: 12023Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 5May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 32024Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 7Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 7Sep 2024: 7Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 3Dec 2024: 3Jan 2025: 22025Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 3Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 32026Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal33.6%329
Recovered with Sequela1.6%16
Ongoing14%137
Died1.5%15
Euthanized1.3%13
Outcome Unknown19.5%191

Beside all dogs

MeasureItalian GreyhoundAll dogs
Reports980985,675
Latest 12 months2653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it39.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports28.655

Questions about Italian Greyhound reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Italian Greyhounds?

980 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 26 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Italian Greyhound reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (147), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (110), spinosad (87), moxidectin (59) and carprofen (47). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (25.7%), emesis (9.9%), lethargy (9.2%), diarrhoea (8.3%) and seizure NOS (5.8%).

Is the Italian Greyhound more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Italian Greyhound animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Greyhound - Italian" becomes "Italian Greyhound"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.