Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Irish Wolfhound: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Irish Wolfhound" · single-breed animals only

309reports, 1990–20260% of dog reports
16reports, 12 months to March 202620 in the 12 months before
42%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13.9%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

309 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Irish Wolfhound (FDA breed label "Irish Wolfhound"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

16 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 20% from 20 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and carprofen. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 13.9% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (19.7%), diarrhoea (12%) and emesis (8.1%). Vomiting appears in 19.7% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 42% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Irish Wolfhound reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad4313.9%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate299.4%14.9%
Carprofen289.1%4.8%
Fluralaner206.5%6.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner185.8%5.1%
Moxidectin175.5%5%
Spinosad165.2%5.8%
Afoxolaner154.9%5.7%
Bedinvetmab103.2%1.9%
Deracoxib103.2%1.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime103.2%2.7%
Firocoxib92.9%0.8%
Selamectin92.9%3%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel82.6%3.1%
Enrofloxacin72.3%0.4%
Meloxicam61.9%0.8%
Milbemycin Oxime61.9%3%
Oclacitinib61.9%2.9%
Prednisone61.9%0.9%
Ivermectin51.6%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Irish Wolfhound reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting19.7%61
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]12%37
  3. Emesis[vomiting]8.1%25
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.1%22
  5. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]5.5%17
  6. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.5%17
  7. Anorexia[not eating]4.9%15
  8. Death4.5%14
  9. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.9%12
  10. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]3.6%11
  11. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]3.6%11
  12. Fever3.2%10
  13. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.9%9
  14. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.9%9
  15. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]2.9%9
  16. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]2.9%9
  17. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2.6%8
  18. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.6%8
  19. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]2.6%8
  20. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]2.3%7
  21. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.3%7
  22. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]1.9%6

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year17.2%53
1 to 3 years32.7%101
4 to 7 years32.7%101
8 to 11 years13.3%41
12 years and over1.3%4
Age not given2.9%9

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1%3
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)5.5%17
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)17.5%54
45 kg and over (99 lb+)70.2%217
Weight not given5.8%18

Coloured bar: Irish Wolfhound reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

035Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 2Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 12025Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 4Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 22026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal22.7%70
Recovered with Sequela1%3
Ongoing20.7%64
Died6.8%21
Euthanized3.6%11
Outcome Unknown17.8%55

Beside all dogs

MeasureIrish WolfhoundAll dogs
Reports309985,675
Latest 12 months1653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it42%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports103.655

Questions about Irish Wolfhound reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Irish Wolfhounds?

309 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 16 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Irish Wolfhound reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (43), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (29), carprofen (28), fluralaner (20) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (18). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (19.7%), diarrhoea (12%), emesis (8.1%), lethargy (7.1%) and death by euthanasia (5.5%).

Is the Irish Wolfhound more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Irish Wolfhound animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Irish Wolfhound" becomes "Irish Wolfhound"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.