Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Standard Long-haired Dachshund: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Dachshund - Standard Long-haired" · single-breed animals only

1,059reports, 2010–20260.1% of dog reports
69reports, 12 months to March 202664 in the 12 months before
37.6%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
25.3%name trilostaneall dogs: 1.2%

FDA's database holds 1,059 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Dachshund - Standard Long-haired", shown here as Standard Long-haired Dachshund: 0.1% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

69 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 64 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are trilostane, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and fluralaner. Trilostane is named in 25.3% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (1.2%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (19%), lethargy (15.5%) and emesis (10%). Vomiting appears in 19% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 37.6% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Standard Long-haired Dachshund reportsShare of all dog reports
Trilostane26825.3%1.2%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad20619.5%13.1%
Fluralaner928.7%6.7%
Moxidectin868.1%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner666.2%5.1%
Spinosad666.2%5.8%
Oclacitinib363.4%2.9%
Sarolaner343.2%1.7%
Maropitant282.6%1.2%
Carprofen272.5%4.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate232.2%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel212%3.1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime191.8%2.7%
Selamectin191.8%3%
Cyclosporine181.7%1.5%
Gabapentin151.4%0.9%
Bedinvetmab141.3%1.9%
Cefovecin sodium141.3%0.4%
Milbemycin Oxime131.2%3%
Diphenhydramine121.1%0.5%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Standard Long-haired Dachshund reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting19%201
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]15.5%164
  3. Emesis[vomiting]10%106
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]8.9%94
  5. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]7.1%75
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]6.5%69
  7. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]5.6%59
  8. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]5.1%54
  9. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]4.5%48
  10. Underdose[less than the labelled amount was given]4.3%46
  11. Anorexia[not eating]4.2%44
  12. Hyperkalaemia[high blood potassium]4.1%43
  13. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]3.7%39
  14. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.4%36
  15. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.2%34
  16. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.8%30
  17. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.5%27
  18. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.5%27
  19. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2.5%26
  20. Death2.4%25
  21. Ineffective, cushings[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (cushings)]2.4%25

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year6.3%67
1 to 3 years18.7%198
4 to 7 years21.4%227
8 to 11 years26.5%281
12 years and over25.1%266
Age not given1.9%20

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)18.6%197
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)68%720
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)11.1%118
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given2.3%24

Coloured bar: Standard Long-haired Dachshund reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0816Apr 2021: 6May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 3Jul 2021: 5Aug 2021: 7Sep 2021: 9Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 8Dec 2021: 5Jan 2022: 32022Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 7Apr 2022: 9May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 8Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 4Jan 2023: 62023Feb 2023: 4Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 7May 2023: 9Jun 2023: 4Jul 2023: 5Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 11Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 2Jan 2024: 42024Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 16Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 8Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 7Dec 2024: 6Jan 2025: 22025Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 10May 2025: 8Jun 2025: 4Jul 2025: 9Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 6Jan 2026: 52026Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal35.3%374
Recovered with Sequela1.6%17
Ongoing26.6%282
Died2.6%28
Euthanized2.9%31
Outcome Unknown30.9%327

Beside all dogs

MeasureStandard Long-haired DachshundAll dogs
Reports1,059985,675
Latest 12 months6953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.6%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports55.755

Questions about Standard Long-haired Dachshund reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Standard Long-haired Dachshunds?

1,059 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 69 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Standard Long-haired Dachshund reports?

By active ingredient: trilostane (268), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (206), fluralaner (92), moxidectin (86) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (66). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (19%), lethargy (15.5%), emesis (10%), diarrhoea (8.9%) and lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (7.1%).

Is the Standard Long-haired Dachshund more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Standard Long-haired Dachshund animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Dachshund - Standard Long-haired" becomes "Standard Long-haired Dachshund"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.