Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Standard Poodle: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Poodle - Standard" · single-breed animals only

3,930reports, 2003–20260.4% of dog reports
310reports, 12 months to March 2026317 in the 12 months before
37.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
16.4%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 3,930 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Poodle - Standard", shown here as Standard Poodle: 0.4% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

310 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 317 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and afoxolaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 16.4% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (22.5%), lethargy (11.6%) and diarrhoea (9.5%). Vomiting appears in 22.5% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 37.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Standard Poodle reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate64516.4%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad57014.5%13.1%
Afoxolaner51413.1%5.7%
Fluralaner3589.1%6.7%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner2887.3%5.1%
Moxidectin1654.2%5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel1533.9%3.1%
Spinosad1112.8%5.8%
Prednisone1072.7%0.9%
Sarolaner1062.7%1.7%
Bedinvetmab962.4%1.9%
Carprofen962.4%4.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime862.2%2.7%
Desoxycorticosterone Pivalate661.7%0.2%
Lotilaner661.7%1%
Grapiprant651.7%0.8%
Oclacitinib581.5%2.9%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate571.5%0.9%
Selamectin561.4%3%
Afoxolaner + Moxidectin + Pyrantel Pamoate551.4%0.8%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Standard Poodle reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting22.5%883
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]11.6%455
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.5%373
  4. Emesis[vomiting]7.5%295
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]7.2%283
  6. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]5.2%205
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.2%167
  8. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4.2%165
  9. Anorexia[not eating]3.7%145
  10. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3%116
  11. Not eating2.9%115
  12. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.9%114
  13. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.7%108
  14. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.6%104
  15. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.6%102
  16. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.5%98
  17. Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2.4%94
  18. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.4%94
  19. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.2%88
  20. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.2%85
  21. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]1.8%71
  22. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]1.7%68
  23. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]1.7%67

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year14.5%571
1 to 3 years31.1%1,224
4 to 7 years24.3%954
8 to 11 years17.6%690
12 years and over8.8%344
Age not given3.7%147

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)3%117
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)5%196
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)52.2%2,050
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)35.1%1,381
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.2%9
Weight not given4.5%177

Coloured bar: Standard Poodle reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02345Apr 2021: 22May 2021: 27Jun 2021: 31Jul 2021: 21Aug 2021: 21Sep 2021: 14Oct 2021: 21Nov 2021: 18Dec 2021: 13Jan 2022: 172022Feb 2022: 19Mar 2022: 17Apr 2022: 14May 2022: 23Jun 2022: 15Jul 2022: 23Aug 2022: 27Sep 2022: 20Oct 2022: 13Nov 2022: 17Dec 2022: 14Jan 2023: 132023Feb 2023: 21Mar 2023: 16Apr 2023: 13May 2023: 39Jun 2023: 36Jul 2023: 24Aug 2023: 36Sep 2023: 18Oct 2023: 32Nov 2023: 30Dec 2023: 19Jan 2024: 212024Feb 2024: 26Mar 2024: 33Apr 2024: 30May 2024: 34Jun 2024: 26Jul 2024: 45Aug 2024: 34Sep 2024: 29Oct 2024: 22Nov 2024: 18Dec 2024: 23Jan 2025: 192025Feb 2025: 19Mar 2025: 18Apr 2025: 31May 2025: 36Jun 2025: 29Jul 2025: 27Aug 2025: 25Sep 2025: 21Oct 2025: 23Nov 2025: 34Dec 2025: 22Jan 2026: 222026Feb 2026: 24Mar 2026: 16

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal37.4%1,468
Recovered with Sequela1.6%61
Ongoing24.2%952
Died1.6%62
Euthanized1.7%67
Outcome Unknown33.6%1,321

Beside all dogs

MeasureStandard PoodleAll dogs
Reports3,930985,675
Latest 12 months31053,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports32.855

Questions about Standard Poodle reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Standard Poodles?

3,930 reports through March 2026, 0.4% of reports about dogs; 310 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Standard Poodle reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (645), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (570), afoxolaner (514), fluralaner (358) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (288). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (22.5%), lethargy (11.6%), diarrhoea (9.5%), emesis (7.5%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (7.2%).

Is the Standard Poodle more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Standard Poodle animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Poodle - Standard" becomes "Standard Poodle"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.