Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Scottish Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Scottish" · single-breed animals only

1,960reports, 1987–20260.2% of dog reports
52reports, 12 months to March 202656 in the 12 months before
41.2%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
14.3%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 1,960 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Terrier - Scottish", shown here as Scottish Terrier: 0.2% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

52 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 56 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate and spinosad. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 14.3% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (18.1%), diarrhoea (9.1%) and lethargy (8.2%). Vomiting appears in 18.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 41.2% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Scottish Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad28014.3%13.1%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate24212.3%14.9%
Spinosad1366.9%5.8%
Oclacitinib1196.1%2.9%
Cyclosporine1135.8%1.5%
Milbemycin Oxime894.5%3%
Fluralaner824.2%6.7%
Afoxolaner784%5.7%
Carprofen753.8%4.8%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime723.7%2.7%
Selamectin633.2%3%
Trilostane462.3%1.2%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner452.3%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel442.2%3.1%
Moxidectin442.2%5%
Selegiline Hydrochloride432.2%0.4%
Betamethasone Valerate + Clotrimazole + Gentamicin Sulfate301.5%0.2%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin251.3%1.3%
Ivermectin241.2%1.3%
Maropitant231.2%1.2%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Scottish Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting18.1%354
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.1%178
  3. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.2%160
  4. Emesis[vomiting]8.1%159
  5. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]6.9%135
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]6%118
  7. Anorexia[not eating]5%98
  8. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.8%94
  9. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]4.8%94
  10. Deafness4.4%86
  11. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.2%82
  12. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]3.9%77
  13. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]3.5%69
  14. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.4%66
  15. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.2%63
  16. Death3%58
  17. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.7%52
  18. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.6%50
  19. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.3%46
  20. Convulsion[seizure]2.2%43
  21. Elevated liver enzymes[liver enzymes above the normal range]2.2%43
  22. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2%40
  23. Pruritus[itching]1.9%38
  24. Fever1.9%37

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year6.3%123
1 to 3 years20.3%397
4 to 7 years26.8%525
8 to 11 years31.1%610
12 years and over12.3%242
Age not given3.2%63

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)2.7%52
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)35.7%700
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)56%1,098
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.1%2
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.1%1
Weight not given5.5%107

Coloured bar: Scottish Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

0612Apr 2021: 7May 2021: 5Jun 2021: 6Jul 2021: 5Aug 2021: 3Sep 2021: 4Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 5Jan 2022: 12022Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 6Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 5Jun 2022: 12Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 10Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 8Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 3Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 6Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 7Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 8Jan 2024: 32024Feb 2024: 6Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 10Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 4Aug 2024: 6Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 3Jan 2025: 32025Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 8May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 6Aug 2025: 6Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 6Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 5Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal23.2%454
Recovered with Sequela3.5%69
Ongoing14.5%285
Died4.4%87
Euthanized2.3%46
Outcome Unknown19.8%389

Beside all dogs

MeasureScottish TerrierAll dogs
Reports1,960985,675
Latest 12 months5253,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it41.2%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports67.955

Questions about Scottish Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Scottish Terriers?

1,960 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 52 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Scottish Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (280), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (242), spinosad (136), oclacitinib (119) and cyclosporine (113). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (18.1%), diarrhoea (9.1%), lethargy (8.2%), emesis (8.1%) and elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP) (6.9%).

Is the Scottish Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Scottish Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Scottish" becomes "Scottish Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.