Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Setter: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Setter (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

128reports, 2011–20260% of dog reports
11reports, 12 months to March 202618 in the 12 months before
37.5%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
13.3%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

FDA's database holds 128 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Setter (unspecified)", shown here as Setter: 0% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

11 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 39% from 18 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, moxidectin and lufenuron + milbemycin oxime. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 13.3% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are lethargy (15.6%), vomiting (15.6%) and lack of efficacy - NOS (10.2%). Lethargy appears in 15.6% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (7.9%). 37.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Setter reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad1713.3%13.1%
Moxidectin1410.9%5%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime1310.2%2.7%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel97%3.1%
Spinosad97%5.8%
Fluralaner86.3%6.7%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin86.3%1.3%
Lotilaner86.3%1%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel75.5%0.7%
Milbemycin Oxime75.5%3%
Febantel + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate64.7%0.7%
Carprofen43.1%4.8%
Florfenicol + Mometasone furoate + Terbinafine43.1%0.3%
Nitenpyram43.1%1.1%
Bedinvetmab32.3%1.9%
Grapiprant32.3%0.8%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate32.3%0.9%
Sarolaner32.3%1.7%
Doxycycline21.6%0.4%
Enrofloxacin21.6%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Setter reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]15.6%20
  2. Vomiting15.6%20
  3. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]10.2%13
  4. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.4%12
  5. Emesis[vomiting]8.6%11
  6. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]6.3%8
  7. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]5.5%7
  8. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]5.5%7
  9. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]4.7%6
  10. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.7%6
  11. Panting4.7%6
  12. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.7%6
  13. Anorexia[not eating]3.9%5
  14. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]3.9%5
  15. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]3.1%4
  16. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.1%4
  17. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.3%3
  18. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.3%3
  19. Pale mucous membrane[pale gums]2.3%3
  20. Pruritus[itching]2.3%3
  21. Anuria1.6%2

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year5.5%7
1 to 3 years24.2%31
4 to 7 years25.8%33
8 to 11 years32%41
12 years and over11.7%15
Age not given0.8%1

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.8%1
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0%0
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)43%55
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)52.3%67
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.8%1
Weight not given3.1%4

Coloured bar: Setter reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

024Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 12024Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 22025Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal32.8%42
Recovered with Sequela2.3%3
Ongoing28.1%36
Died1.6%2
Euthanized3.9%5
Outcome Unknown31.3%40

Beside all dogs

MeasureSetterAll dogs
Reports128985,675
Latest 12 months1153,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.5%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports54.755

Questions about Setter reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Setters?

128 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 11 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Setter reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (17), moxidectin (14), lufenuron + milbemycin oxime (13), milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (9) and spinosad (9). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lethargy (15.6%), vomiting (15.6%), lack of efficacy - NOS (10.2%), diarrhoea (9.4%) and emesis (8.6%).

Is the Setter more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Setter animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Setter (unspecified)" becomes "Setter"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.