Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Staffordshire Bull Terrier: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Terrier - Bull - Staffordshire" · single-breed animals only

2,459reports, 1990–20260.3% of dog reports
206reports, 12 months to March 2026221 in the 12 months before
43.3%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
12.3%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

2,459 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Staffordshire Bull Terrier (FDA breed label "Terrier - Bull - Staffordshire"). That is 0.3% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

206 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 221 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, moxidectin and milbemycin oxime + spinosad. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 12.3% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (20.1%), lethargy (10.8%) and diarrhoea (7.9%). Vomiting appears in 20.1% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 43.3% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Staffordshire Bull Terrier reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate30312.3%14.9%
Moxidectin28611.6%5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad25410.3%13.1%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1837.4%5.1%
Afoxolaner1787.2%5.7%
Oclacitinib1727%2.9%
Fluralaner1586.4%6.7%
Bedinvetmab1214.9%1.9%
Carprofen893.6%4.8%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride793.2%2.3%
Sarolaner692.8%1.7%
Spinosad692.8%5.8%
Ivermectin552.2%1.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime542.2%2.7%
Gabapentin441.8%0.9%
Prednisone441.8%0.9%
Tigilanol tiglate391.6%0.2%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel371.5%3.1%
Maropitant361.5%1.2%
Diphenhydramine351.4%0.5%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Staffordshire Bull Terrier reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting20.1%494
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]10.8%265
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.9%194
  4. Emesis[vomiting]6.3%155
  5. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]6.2%152
  6. Hives6.1%149
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.7%139
  8. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]4.8%117
  9. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]4.2%104
  10. Anorexia[not eating]3.9%96
  11. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.4%84
  12. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.1%75
  13. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.8%68
  14. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.4%60
  15. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]2.2%53
  16. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.1%52
  17. Death2.1%51
  18. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2%50
  19. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]2%48
  20. Injection site swelling[swelling where the injection was given]2%48
  21. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]1.9%46

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year10.5%259
1 to 3 years35%861
4 to 7 years26.6%654
8 to 11 years18.8%462
12 years and over7.2%177
Age not given1.9%46

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.2%29
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.7%41
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)36.8%906
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)56.3%1,384
45 kg and over (99 lb+)1.3%31
Weight not given2.8%68

Coloured bar: Staffordshire Bull Terrier reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01428Apr 2021: 26May 2021: 19Jun 2021: 18Jul 2021: 15Aug 2021: 7Sep 2021: 13Oct 2021: 17Nov 2021: 10Dec 2021: 12Jan 2022: 132022Feb 2022: 11Mar 2022: 10Apr 2022: 10May 2022: 13Jun 2022: 13Jul 2022: 14Aug 2022: 12Sep 2022: 15Oct 2022: 8Nov 2022: 11Dec 2022: 8Jan 2023: 152023Feb 2023: 11Mar 2023: 8Apr 2023: 10May 2023: 12Jun 2023: 13Jul 2023: 8Aug 2023: 10Sep 2023: 8Oct 2023: 12Nov 2023: 14Dec 2023: 11Jan 2024: 122024Feb 2024: 17Mar 2024: 11Apr 2024: 19May 2024: 16Jun 2024: 15Jul 2024: 26Aug 2024: 17Sep 2024: 15Oct 2024: 28Nov 2024: 18Dec 2024: 20Jan 2025: 142025Feb 2025: 18Mar 2025: 15Apr 2025: 21May 2025: 17Jun 2025: 21Jul 2025: 13Aug 2025: 19Sep 2025: 18Oct 2025: 11Nov 2025: 19Dec 2025: 23Jan 2026: 162026Feb 2026: 15Mar 2026: 13

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal27.1%667
Recovered with Sequela3.1%75
Ongoing29.8%733
Died2.4%60
Euthanized2.3%56
Outcome Unknown25.3%621

Beside all dogs

MeasureStaffordshire Bull TerrierAll dogs
Reports2,459985,675
Latest 12 months20653,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it43.3%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports47.255

Questions about Staffordshire Bull Terrier reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Staffordshire Bull Terriers?

2,459 reports through March 2026, 0.3% of reports about dogs; 206 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Staffordshire Bull Terrier reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (303), moxidectin (286), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (254), pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (183) and afoxolaner (178). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (20.1%), lethargy (10.8%), diarrhoea (7.9%), emesis (6.3%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (6.2%).

Is the Staffordshire Bull Terrier more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Staffordshire Bull Terrier animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 30 Sep 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Terrier - Bull - Staffordshire" becomes "Staffordshire Bull Terrier"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.