Breed · Dog
Springer English Spaniel: adverse event reports
FDA breed label "Spaniel - Springer English" · single-breed animals only
2,178 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Springer English Spaniel (FDA breed label "Spaniel - Springer English"). That is 0.2% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.
149 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 148 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.
By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, afoxolaner and fluralaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 20.5% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (14.9%).
The terms listed most often are vomiting (14.5%), lethargy (10%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (8%). Vomiting appears in 14.5% of reports, a smaller share than in all dog reports (19.7%). 45.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.
Drugs named most often, by active ingredient
| Active ingredients recorded for the drug | Reports | Share of Springer English Spaniel reports | Share of all dog reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate | 447 | 20.5% | 14.9% |
| Afoxolaner | 249 | 11.4% | 5.7% |
| Fluralaner | 227 | 10.4% | 6.7% |
| Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad | 212 | 9.7% | 13.1% |
| Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner | 152 | 7% | 5.1% |
| Oclacitinib | 98 | 4.5% | 2.9% |
| Moxidectin | 77 | 3.5% | 5% |
| Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel | 73 | 3.4% | 3.1% |
| Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime | 70 | 3.2% | 2.7% |
| Spinosad | 62 | 2.8% | 5.8% |
| Trilostane | 62 | 2.8% | 1.2% |
| Sarolaner | 53 | 2.4% | 1.7% |
| Carprofen | 52 | 2.4% | 4.8% |
| Bedinvetmab | 47 | 2.2% | 1.9% |
| Cyclosporine | 34 | 1.6% | 1.5% |
| Milbemycin Oxime | 33 | 1.5% | 3% |
| Gabapentin | 31 | 1.4% | 0.9% |
| Imidacloprid + Moxidectin | 30 | 1.4% | 1.3% |
| Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate | 29 | 1.3% | 0.9% |
| Ivermectin | 28 | 1.3% | 1.3% |
Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.
Signs listed in reports
share of Springer English Spaniel reports listing the termall dog reports
- Vomiting14.5%315
- Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]10%218
- Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]8%174
- Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.1%155
- Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]6.3%138
- Emesis[vomiting]5.6%123
- Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]4.4%96
- Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.4%96
- Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]4.3%94
- Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]3.9%86
- Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.8%83
- Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]3.7%81
- Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]3.7%81
- Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.4%74
- Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]3.1%68
- Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]2.9%64
- Anorexia[not eating]2.8%61
- Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.8%61
- Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.8%61
- Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2.8%60
- Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.5%55
- Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.2%49
- Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]2.2%49
- Lack of efficacy (tick)[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]2.2%48
- Decreased appetite2.2%47
Age and weight
Age of the animal
Weight of the animal
Coloured bar: Springer English Spaniel reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.
Trend and outcomes
Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.
Outcome recorded in the report
Beside all dogs
| Measure | Springer English Spaniel | All dogs |
|---|---|---|
| Reports | 2,178 | 985,675 |
| Latest 12 months | 149 | 53,292 |
| Classed serious, of reports stating it | 45.7% | 38.3% |
| Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports | 40.4 | 55 |
Questions about Springer English Spaniel reports
How many FDA adverse event reports involve Springer English Spaniels?
2,178 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 149 in the latest 12 months.
Which drugs are named most often in Springer English Spaniel reports?
By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (447), afoxolaner (249), fluralaner (227), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (212) and pyrantel pamoate + sarolaner (152). Brands are masked in the public data.
What signs are reported most for this breed?
vomiting (14.5%), lethargy (10%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (8%), diarrhoea (7.1%) and lack of efficacy - NOS (6.3%).
Is the Springer English Spaniel more sensitive to certain drugs?
Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Springer English Spaniel animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.
Why are crossbreds not included?
FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.
How do I report a problem?
Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Spaniel - Springer English" becomes "Springer English Spaniel"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.