Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog): adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Cattle Dog - Australian (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog)" · single-breed animals only

6,537reports, 1990–20260.7% of dog reports
464reports, 12 months to March 2026416 in the 12 months before
39.8%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
18.2%name ivermectin + pyrantel pamoateall dogs: 14.9%

FDA's database holds 6,537 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Cattle Dog - Australian (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog)", shown here as Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog): 0.7% of reports about dogs. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

464 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 12% from 416 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and fluralaner. Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate is named in 18.2% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (14.9%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (16.7%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (11.8%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (10.8%). Vomiting appears in 16.7% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 39.8% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog) reportsShare of all dog reports
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1,19218.2%14.9%
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad87413.4%13.1%
Fluralaner5017.7%6.7%
Afoxolaner3835.9%5.7%
Moxidectin3795.8%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner3775.8%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel3094.7%3.1%
Spinosad2744.2%5.8%
Milbemycin Oxime2393.7%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime2183.3%2.7%
Carprofen1933%4.8%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride1782.7%2.3%
Selamectin1542.4%3%
Bedinvetmab1502.3%1.9%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate1101.7%0.9%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin1001.5%1.3%
Trilostane961.5%1.2%
Oclacitinib901.4%2.9%
Sarolaner881.3%1.7%
Ivermectin861.3%1.3%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog) reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting16.7%1,092
  2. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]11.8%772
  3. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]10.8%704
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.5%490
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]5.7%372
  6. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]5.1%331
  7. Emesis[vomiting]5%326
  8. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.2%276
  9. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]4%260
  10. Anorexia[not eating]3.5%232
  11. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.1%205
  12. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]2.8%185
  13. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.6%169
  14. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.2%141
  15. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - roundworm NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: roundworms]2.1%136
  16. Death2%131
  17. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]2%130
  18. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]1.9%127
  19. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.9%123
  20. Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]1.9%123
  21. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]1.8%119
  22. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]1.7%113
  23. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]1.7%112
  24. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]1.7%110
  25. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]1.6%105

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year12.6%824
1 to 3 years34.6%2,265
4 to 7 years26.1%1,707
8 to 11 years15.8%1,035
12 years and over8.4%551
Age not given2.4%155

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.8%118
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)4.4%288
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)69.6%4,547
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)20.9%1,369
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0.1%7
Weight not given3.2%208

Coloured bar: Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog) reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

02855Apr 2021: 43May 2021: 39Jun 2021: 31Jul 2021: 33Aug 2021: 32Sep 2021: 34Oct 2021: 24Nov 2021: 26Dec 2021: 27Jan 2022: 302022Feb 2022: 23Mar 2022: 33Apr 2022: 37May 2022: 35Jun 2022: 38Jul 2022: 29Aug 2022: 44Sep 2022: 29Oct 2022: 29Nov 2022: 33Dec 2022: 26Jan 2023: 302023Feb 2023: 32Mar 2023: 36Apr 2023: 24May 2023: 36Jun 2023: 36Jul 2023: 35Aug 2023: 36Sep 2023: 30Oct 2023: 30Nov 2023: 27Dec 2023: 24Jan 2024: 482024Feb 2024: 35Mar 2024: 41Apr 2024: 45May 2024: 47Jun 2024: 48Jul 2024: 44Aug 2024: 44Sep 2024: 27Oct 2024: 33Nov 2024: 30Dec 2024: 26Jan 2025: 332025Feb 2025: 18Mar 2025: 21Apr 2025: 50May 2025: 55Jun 2025: 41Jul 2025: 41Aug 2025: 43Sep 2025: 43Oct 2025: 35Nov 2025: 29Dec 2025: 25Jan 2026: 472026Feb 2026: 27Mar 2026: 28

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal22.6%1,475
Recovered with Sequela4.6%298
Ongoing22.9%1,494
Died2.9%189
Euthanized1.5%96
Outcome Unknown28.8%1,882

Beside all dogs

MeasureAustralian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog)All dogs
Reports6,537985,675
Latest 12 months46453,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it39.8%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports43.655

Questions about Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog) reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog)s?

6,537 reports through March 2026, 0.7% of reports about dogs; 464 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog) reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (1,192), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (874), fluralaner (501), afoxolaner (383) and moxidectin (379). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (16.7%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (11.8%), ineffective, heartworm larvae (10.8%), lethargy (7.5%) and diarrhoea (5.7%).

Is the Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog) more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog) animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Cattle Dog - Australian (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog)" becomes "Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler, red heeler, Queensland cattledog)"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.