Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Japanese Chin (Spaniel): adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Japanese Chin (Spaniel)" · single-breed animals only

400reports, 1988–20260% of dog reports
18reports, 12 months to March 202623 in the 12 months before
34.6%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
17%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

400 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Japanese Chin (Spaniel) (FDA breed label "Japanese Chin (Spaniel)"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

18 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 22% from 23 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, spinosad and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 17% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (22.8%), lethargy (13.5%) and diarrhoea (12.3%). Vomiting appears in 22.8% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 34.6% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Japanese Chin (Spaniel) reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad6817%13.1%
Spinosad5614%5.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate4010%14.9%
Afoxolaner266.5%5.7%
Pimobendan205%0.6%
Selamectin174.3%3%
Bedinvetmab153.8%1.9%
Nitenpyram143.5%1.1%
Milbemycin Oxime133.3%3%
Carprofen123%4.8%
Imidacloprid + Moxidectin102.5%1.3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime92.3%2.7%
Moxidectin92.3%5%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner92.3%5.1%
Fluralaner82%6.7%
Ivermectin82%1.3%
Imidacloprid71.8%0.5%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel71.8%3.1%
Febantel + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate61.5%0.7%
Oclacitinib61.5%2.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Japanese Chin (Spaniel) reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting22.8%91
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]13.5%54
  3. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]12.3%49
  4. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]10.8%43
  5. Anorexia[not eating]7.5%30
  6. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]7.2%29
  7. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]5.8%23
  8. Emesis[vomiting]5.5%22
  9. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4.8%19
  10. Death4.5%18
  11. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.5%18
  12. Pruritus[itching]4.3%17
  13. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.8%15
  14. Cough3%12
  15. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]2.5%10
  16. Shaking2.5%10
  17. Convulsion[seizure]2.3%9
  18. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.3%9
  19. Vocalisation[crying out or unusual noise]2.3%9
  20. Bloody diarrhoea[diarrhea with blood]2%8
  21. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2%8

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year11.8%47
1 to 3 years25%100
4 to 7 years26.3%105
8 to 11 years23%92
12 years and over9.3%37
Age not given4.8%19

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)54.5%218
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)35.8%143
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)2.3%9
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.3%1
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given7.3%29

Coloured bar: Japanese Chin (Spaniel) reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

024Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 2Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 12022Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 2Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 42025Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 32026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 4

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal29.3%117
Recovered with Sequela2.3%9
Ongoing12.5%50
Died5.3%21
Euthanized0.5%2
Outcome Unknown27.3%109

Beside all dogs

MeasureJapanese Chin (Spaniel)All dogs
Reports400985,675
Latest 12 months1853,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it34.6%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports57.555

Questions about Japanese Chin (Spaniel) reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Japanese Chin (Spaniel)s?

400 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 18 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Japanese Chin (Spaniel) reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (68), spinosad (56), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (40), afoxolaner (26) and pimobendan (20). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (22.8%), lethargy (13.5%), diarrhoea (12.3%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea (10.8%) and anorexia (7.5%).

Is the Japanese Chin (Spaniel) more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Japanese Chin (Spaniel) animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Japanese Chin (Spaniel)" becomes "Japanese Chin (Spaniel)"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.