Breed · Dog
English Pointer Pointer: adverse event reports
FDA breed label "Pointer - English Pointer" · single-breed animals only
163 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as English Pointer Pointer (FDA breed label "Pointer - English Pointer"). That is 0% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.
0 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, and none in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.
By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are fluralaner, milbemycin oxime + spinosad and milbemycin oxime + praziquantel. Fluralaner is named in 25.8% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (6.7%).
The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (16%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS (11.7%) and vomiting (7.4%). Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm appears in 16% of reports, a larger share than in all dog reports (5.4%). 39.5% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.
Drugs named most often, by active ingredient
| Active ingredients recorded for the drug | Reports | Share of English Pointer Pointer reports | Share of all dog reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fluralaner | 42 | 25.8% | 6.7% |
| Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad | 35 | 21.5% | 13.1% |
| Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel | 31 | 19% | 3.1% |
| Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate | 23 | 14.1% | 14.9% |
| Desoxycorticosterone Pivalate | 6 | 3.7% | 0.2% |
| Prednisone | 6 | 3.7% | 0.9% |
| Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel | 5 | 3.1% | 0.7% |
| Milbemycin Oxime | 5 | 3.1% | 3% |
| Afoxolaner | 3 | 1.8% | 5.7% |
| Deracoxib | 3 | 1.8% | 1.1% |
| Febantel + Praziquantel + Pyrantel Pamoate | 3 | 1.8% | 0.7% |
| Melarsomine Dihydrochloride | 3 | 1.8% | 2.3% |
| Sarolaner | 3 | 1.8% | 1.7% |
| Grapiprant | 2 | 1.2% | 0.8% |
| Imidacloprid | 2 | 1.2% | 0.5% |
| Ivermectin | 2 | 1.2% | 1.3% |
| Oclacitinib | 2 | 1.2% | 2.9% |
| Prednisolone | 2 | 1.2% | 0.2% |
| Acepromazine Maleate | 1 | 0.6% | 0.2% |
| Atipamezole Hydrochloride | 1 | 0.6% | 0.3% |
Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.
Signs listed in reports
share of English Pointer Pointer reports listing the termall dog reports
- Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]16%26
- Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: ticks]11.7%19
- Vomiting7.4%12
- Emesis[vomiting]6.7%11
- Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]6.7%11
- Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]5.5%9
- Death4.9%8
- Diarrhoea[diarrhea]4.9%8
- Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - whipworm[the product did not have the expected effect: whipworms]4.3%7
- Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.3%7
- Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.7%6
- Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]3.7%6
- Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]3.7%6
- Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3.7%6
- Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]3.1%5
- Ineffective, ascarids NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (ascarids nos)]3.1%5
- Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.1%5
- Weight loss3.1%5
- Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.5%4
- Ineffective, hooks[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (hooks)]2.5%4
- Anaemia NOS[low red blood cell count]1.8%3
- Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]1.8%3
- Lack of efficacy (heartworm)[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]1.8%3
- Lateral recumbency[lying on the side, unable to rise]1.8%3
Age and weight
Age of the animal
Weight of the animal
Coloured bar: English Pointer Pointer reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.
Trend and outcomes
Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.
Outcome recorded in the report
Beside all dogs
| Measure | English Pointer Pointer | All dogs |
|---|---|---|
| Reports | 163 | 985,675 |
| Latest 12 months | 0 | 53,292 |
| Classed serious, of reports stating it | 39.5% | 38.3% |
| Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports | 92 | 55 |
Questions about English Pointer Pointer reports
How many FDA adverse event reports involve English Pointer Pointers?
163 reports through March 2026, 0% of reports about dogs; 0 in the latest 12 months.
Which drugs are named most often in English Pointer Pointer reports?
By active ingredient: fluralaner (42), milbemycin oxime + spinosad (35), milbemycin oxime + praziquantel (31), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (23) and desoxycorticosterone pivalate (6). Brands are masked in the public data.
What signs are reported most for this breed?
lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (16%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - tick NOS (11.7%), vomiting (7.4%), emesis (6.7%) and lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm (6.7%).
Is the English Pointer Pointer more sensitive to certain drugs?
Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many English Pointer Pointer animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.
Why are crossbreds not included?
FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.
How do I report a problem?
Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Pointer - English Pointer" becomes "English Pointer Pointer"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.