Pet Drug Reports

Species › Cat

Breed · Cat

Abyssinian cat: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Abyssinian cat" · single-breed animals only

250reports, 1992–20260.2% of cat reports
17reports, 12 months to March 202615 in the 12 months before
45.8%classed serious, as reportedall cats: 35.6%
15.2%name selamectinall cats: 14.8%

250 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Abyssinian cat (FDA breed label "Abyssinian cat"). That is 0.2% of all reports about cats. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

17 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, up 13% from 15 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are selamectin, cefovecin sodium and frunevetmab. Selamectin is named in 15.2% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all cats (14.8%).

The terms listed most often are anorexia (12.8%), vomiting (12.4%) and application site alopecia (9.2%). Anorexia appears in 12.8% of reports, a larger share than in all cat reports (7.3%). 45.8% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 35.6% for cats overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Abyssinian cat reportsShare of all cat reports
Selamectin3815.2%14.8%
Cefovecin sodium218.4%5.8%
Frunevetmab176.8%5.1%
Buprenorphine166.4%3.7%
Meloxicam156%2.4%
Robenacoxib156%2.2%
Cyclosporine145.6%2%
Spinosad114.4%7.8%
Insulin104%2.4%
Maropitant104%2.5%
Sarolaner + Selamectin93.6%5.3%
Amoxicillin83.2%1.1%
Bexagliflozin83.2%2.5%
Prednisolone83.2%0.8%
Butorphanol Tartrate72.8%1.5%
Fluralaner72.8%7%
Atipamezole Hydrochloride62.4%0.7%
Emodepside + Praziquantel62.4%3.8%
Ketamine Hydrochloride62.4%2.5%
Methylprednisolone Acetate62.4%1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Abyssinian cat reports listing the termall cat reports

  1. Anorexia[not eating]12.8%32
  2. Vomiting12.4%31
  3. Application site alopecia[hair loss where the product was applied]9.2%23
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]8.8%22
  5. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]7.6%19
  6. Elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN)[a kidney value above the normal range]6.8%17
  7. Death6.4%16
  8. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]6%15
  9. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]6%15
  10. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]6%15
  11. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]6%15
  12. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]5.2%13
  13. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]4.8%12
  14. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]4.4%11
  15. Emesis[vomiting]4%10
  16. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.2%8
  17. Fever3.2%8
  18. Hypersalivation[drooling]3.2%8
  19. Vocalisation[crying out or unusual noise]3.2%8
  20. Application site erythema[reddened skin where the product was applied]2.8%7
  21. Application site hair loss[hair loss where the product was applied]2.8%7
  22. Hyperphosphataemia[high blood phosphate]2.8%7

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year9.6%24
1 to 3 years21.2%53
4 to 7 years19.2%48
8 to 11 years22%55
12 years and over24.8%62
Age not given3.2%8

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)76%190
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)18%45
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0%0
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given6%15

Coloured bar: Abyssinian cat reports. Grey bar: all cat reports.

Trend and outcomes

036Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 2Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 12022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 6Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 2Jan 2024: 42024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 3Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 12025Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal13.6%34
Recovered with Sequela1.2%3
Ongoing25.2%63
Died8%20
Euthanized3.6%9
Outcome Unknown18%45

Beside all cats

MeasureAbyssinian catAll cats
Reports250148,080
Latest 12 months1712,477
Classed serious, of reports stating it45.8%35.6%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports11695

Questions about Abyssinian cat reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Abyssinian cats?

250 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about cats; 17 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Abyssinian cat reports?

By active ingredient: selamectin (38), cefovecin sodium (21), frunevetmab (17), buprenorphine (16) and meloxicam (15). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

anorexia (12.8%), vomiting (12.4%), application site alopecia (9.2%), lethargy (8.8%) and ataxia (7.6%).

Is the Abyssinian cat more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Abyssinian cat animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Abyssinian cat" becomes "Abyssinian cat"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.