Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

American Bulldog: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Bulldog - American" · single-breed animals only

2,245reports, 2001–20260.2% of dog reports
159reports, 12 months to March 2026159 in the 12 months before
37.2%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
18.9%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

2,245 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as American Bulldog (FDA breed label "Bulldog - American"). That is 0.2% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

159 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 159 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, fluralaner and moxidectin. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 18.9% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (21.4%), lethargy (9.5%) and emesis (7.6%). Vomiting appears in 21.4% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 37.2% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of American Bulldog reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad42418.9%13.1%
Fluralaner23610.5%6.7%
Moxidectin2099.3%5%
Oclacitinib1858.2%2.9%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate1607.1%14.9%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner1516.7%5.1%
Spinosad1295.7%5.8%
Carprofen1084.8%4.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel924.1%3.1%
Bedinvetmab622.8%1.9%
Selamectin502.2%3%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime462%2.7%
Sarolaner401.8%1.7%
Maropitant391.7%1.2%
Gabapentin341.5%0.9%
Butorphanol Tartrate321.4%0.4%
Lotilaner321.4%1%
Nitenpyram311.4%1.1%
Milbemycin Oxime281.2%3%
Prednisone281.2%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of American Bulldog reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting21.4%481
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.5%213
  3. Emesis[vomiting]7.6%170
  4. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]7.6%170
  5. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]7.3%164
  6. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]6.5%145
  7. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.3%120
  8. Hives5.2%117
  9. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]5.2%117
  10. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - hookworm[the product did not have the expected effect: hookworms]3.2%72
  11. Anorexia[not eating]3.2%71
  12. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.9%65
  13. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.9%64
  14. Death2.7%61
  15. Emesis (multiple)[vomiting more than once]2.2%50
  16. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]2%46
  17. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]1.8%40
  18. Underdose[less than the labelled amount was given]1.7%39
  19. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]1.6%36
  20. Pruritus[itching]1.6%36
  21. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]1.5%34

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year15.4%345
1 to 3 years36.2%812
4 to 7 years27.7%621
8 to 11 years14.7%330
12 years and over3.7%84
Age not given2.4%53

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)1.7%39
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)2.1%47
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)17.8%399
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)64.8%1,454
45 kg and over (99 lb+)11%246
Weight not given2.7%60

Coloured bar: American Bulldog reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

01122Apr 2021: 17May 2021: 18Jun 2021: 11Jul 2021: 13Aug 2021: 18Sep 2021: 15Oct 2021: 9Nov 2021: 9Dec 2021: 7Jan 2022: 142022Feb 2022: 8Mar 2022: 11Apr 2022: 18May 2022: 20Jun 2022: 10Jul 2022: 12Aug 2022: 17Sep 2022: 13Oct 2022: 11Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 5Jan 2023: 112023Feb 2023: 7Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 10May 2023: 15Jun 2023: 8Jul 2023: 12Aug 2023: 12Sep 2023: 8Oct 2023: 11Nov 2023: 8Dec 2023: 8Jan 2024: 152024Feb 2024: 14Mar 2024: 13Apr 2024: 12May 2024: 13Jun 2024: 22Jul 2024: 13Aug 2024: 16Sep 2024: 16Oct 2024: 13Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 9Jan 2025: 122025Feb 2025: 12Mar 2025: 12Apr 2025: 9May 2025: 10Jun 2025: 13Jul 2025: 15Aug 2025: 16Sep 2025: 18Oct 2025: 15Nov 2025: 14Dec 2025: 13Jan 2026: 182026Feb 2026: 6Mar 2026: 12

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal28.8%647
Recovered with Sequela2.1%48
Ongoing31.2%700
Died3.3%75
Euthanized2.4%55
Outcome Unknown23.3%523

Beside all dogs

MeasureAmerican BulldogAll dogs
Reports2,245985,675
Latest 12 months15953,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.2%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports57.955

Questions about American Bulldog reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve American Bulldogs?

2,245 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about dogs; 159 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in American Bulldog reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (424), fluralaner (236), moxidectin (209), oclacitinib (185) and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (160). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (21.4%), lethargy (9.5%), emesis (7.6%), lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm (7.6%) and diarrhoea (7.3%).

Is the American Bulldog more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many American Bulldog animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Bulldog - American" becomes "American Bulldog"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.