Pet Drug Reports

Species › Dog

Breed · Dog

Akita: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Akita" · single-breed animals only

1,387reports, 1987–20260.1% of dog reports
52reports, 12 months to March 202667 in the 12 months before
39.7%classed serious, as reportedall dogs: 38.3%
11.5%name milbemycin oxime + spinosadall dogs: 13.1%

1,387 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Akita (FDA breed label "Akita"). That is 0.1% of all reports about dogs. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

52 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 22% from 67 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are milbemycin oxime + spinosad, carprofen and ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate. Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad is named in 11.5% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all dogs (13.1%).

The terms listed most often are vomiting (18.8%), diarrhoea (9.3%) and anorexia (9.1%). Vomiting appears in 18.8% of reports, about the same share as in all dog reports (19.7%). 39.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 38.3% for dogs overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Akita reportsShare of all dog reports
Milbemycin Oxime + Spinosad16011.5%13.1%
Carprofen15110.9%4.8%
Ivermectin + Pyrantel Pamoate14610.5%14.9%
Afoxolaner805.8%5.7%
Fluralaner715.1%6.7%
Spinosad705%5.8%
Moxidectin564%5%
Selamectin533.8%3%
Deracoxib523.7%1.1%
Pyrantel Pamoate + Sarolaner513.7%5.1%
Milbemycin Oxime463.3%3%
Bedinvetmab332.4%1.9%
Oclacitinib332.4%2.9%
Lufenuron + Milbemycin Oxime312.2%2.7%
Melarsomine Dihydrochloride312.2%2.3%
Ivermectin292.1%1.3%
Cyclosporine261.9%1.5%
Meloxicam241.7%0.8%
Firocoxib201.4%0.8%
Milbemycin Oxime + Praziquantel201.4%3.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Akita reports listing the termall dog reports

  1. Vomiting18.8%261
  2. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]9.3%129
  3. Anorexia[not eating]9.1%126
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]9.1%126
  5. Ineffective, heartworm larvae[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (heartworm larvae)]7.8%108
  6. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]6.9%96
  7. Emesis[vomiting]5.1%71
  8. Death5%69
  9. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4.6%64
  10. Elevated alanine aminotransferase (ALT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]3.5%49
  11. Lack of efficacy (endoparasite) - heartworm[the product did not have the expected effect: heartworm]3.2%44
  12. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]3%42
  13. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.9%40
  14. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]2.9%40
  15. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]2.8%39
  16. Elevated serum alkaline phosphatase (SAP)[a liver and bone enzyme above the normal range]2.8%39
  17. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]2.8%39
  18. Polydipsia[drinking more than usual]2.7%38
  19. Pruritus[itching]2.5%35
  20. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.5%34
  21. Weakness2.3%32
  22. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - Borrelia[the product did not have the expected effect: Borrelia (Lyme disease bacteria)]2.2%31
  23. Anaemia NOS[low red blood cell count]2.1%29

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year10.8%150
1 to 3 years24.9%346
4 to 7 years28.4%394
8 to 11 years23.8%330
12 years and over9.4%131
Age not given2.6%36

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0.1%1
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)1.3%18
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)6.1%85
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)59%818
45 kg and over (99 lb+)29.2%405
Weight not given4.3%60

Coloured bar: Akita reports. Grey bar: all dog reports.

Trend and outcomes

059Apr 2021: 3May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 6Jul 2021: 5Aug 2021: 4Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 4Jan 2022: 42022Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 5May 2022: 5Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 5Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 4Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 2Jan 2024: 32024Feb 2024: 5Mar 2024: 5Apr 2024: 9May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 7Sep 2024: 6Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 8Jan 2025: 72025Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 8May 2025: 8Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 5Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 7Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 2Jan 2026: 42026Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal19.6%272
Recovered with Sequela2.8%39
Ongoing17%236
Died6.9%96
Euthanized1.2%17
Outcome Unknown18.7%259

Beside all dogs

MeasureAkitaAll dogs
Reports1,387985,675
Latest 12 months5253,292
Classed serious, of reports stating it39.7%38.3%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports81.555

Questions about Akita reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Akitas?

1,387 reports through March 2026, 0.1% of reports about dogs; 52 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Akita reports?

By active ingredient: milbemycin oxime + spinosad (160), carprofen (151), ivermectin + pyrantel pamoate (146), afoxolaner (80) and fluralaner (71). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

vomiting (18.8%), diarrhoea (9.3%), anorexia (9.1%), lethargy (9.1%) and ineffective, heartworm larvae (7.8%).

Is the Akita more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Akita animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Akita" becomes "Akita"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.