Pet Drug Reports

Species › Cattle

Breed · Cattle

Hereford cattle: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Hereford cattle" · single-breed animals only

329reports, 1987–20251.1% of cattle reports
5reports, 12 months to March 20266 in the 12 months before
53.8%classed serious, as reportedall cattle: 58.4%
10.6%name doramectinall cattle: 10.3%

329 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Hereford cattle (FDA breed label "Hereford cattle"). That is 1.1% of all reports about cattle. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

5 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 17% from 6 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are doramectin, ivermectin and oxytetracycline. Doramectin is named in 10.6% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all cattle (10.3%).

The terms listed most often are death (34.7%), hypersalivation (8.5%) and anaphylaxis (7.9%). Death appears in 34.7% of reports, about the same share as in all cattle reports (29.4%). 53.8% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 58.4% for cattle overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Hereford cattle reportsShare of all cattle reports
Doramectin3510.6%10.3%
Ivermectin3410.3%6.9%
Oxytetracycline278.2%2.1%
Tulathromycin216.4%7.3%
Eprinomectin195.8%4.8%
Moxidectin195.8%4.2%
Progesterone164.9%1.5%
Dinoprost Tromethamine144.3%2.9%
Levamisole123.6%0.4%
Famphur113.3%0.4%
Monensin92.7%10.8%
Vitamin E72.1%0.8%
Enrofloxacin61.8%0.7%
Flunixin Meglumine51.5%0.9%
Lincomycin Hydrochloride Monohydrate + Spectinomycin Sulfate Tetrahydrate51.5%0.6%
Penicillin G Procaine51.5%0.6%
Albendazole41.2%0.9%
Ceftiofur Hydrochloride41.2%2.1%
Clorsulon + Ivermectin41.2%1%
Florfenicol41.2%1.6%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Hereford cattle reports listing the termall cattle reports

  1. Death34.7%114
  2. Hypersalivation[drooling]8.5%28
  3. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]7.9%26
  4. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - lice[the product did not have the expected effect: lice]7.9%26
  5. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]7.3%24
  6. Recumbency[lying down and unable or unwilling to rise]6.7%22
  7. Injection site swelling[swelling where the injection was given]6.4%21
  8. Collapse6.1%20
  9. Dyspnoea[difficulty breathing]6.1%20
  10. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4.9%16
  11. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]4.9%16
  12. Anorexia[not eating]4.6%15
  13. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]4.6%15
  14. Ineffective, estrus synchroniz[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (estrus synchroniz)]4%13
  15. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]3%10
  16. Pruritus[itching]2.7%9
  17. Facial oedema[swollen face]2.1%7
  18. Ineffective, worms NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (worms nos)]2.1%7
  19. Alopecia NOS[hair loss, type not specified]1.8%6
  20. Swelling NOS[NOS: not otherwise specified]1.8%6
  21. Cyanosis[bluish gums or skin from low oxygen]1.5%5

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year30.1%99
1 to 3 years23.4%77
4 to 7 years6.7%22
8 to 11 years1.5%5
12 years and over0%0
Age not given38.3%126

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0%0
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0.3%1
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.6%2
45 kg and over (99 lb+)62.9%207
Weight not given36.2%119

Coloured bar: Hereford cattle reports. Grey bar: all cattle reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal6.7%22
Recovered with Sequela0.9%3
Ongoing2.7%9
Died39.2%129
Euthanized0.9%3
Outcome Unknown15.8%52

Beside all cattle

MeasureHereford cattleAll cattle
Reports32931,229
Latest 12 months5644
Classed serious, of reports stating it53.8%58.4%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports398.2368

Questions about Hereford cattle reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Hereford cattles?

329 reports through March 2026, 1.1% of reports about cattle; 5 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Hereford cattle reports?

By active ingredient: doramectin (35), ivermectin (34), oxytetracycline (27), tulathromycin (21) and eprinomectin (19). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

death (34.7%), hypersalivation (8.5%), anaphylaxis (7.9%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - lice (7.9%) and lack of efficacy - NOS (7.3%).

Is the Hereford cattle more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Hereford cattle animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Hereford cattle" becomes "Hereford cattle"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.