Pet Drug Reports

Species › Cattle

Breed · Cattle

Limousin: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Limousin" · single-breed animals only

137reports, 1987–20190.4% of cattle reports
0reports, 12 months to March 20260 in the 12 months before
71.4%classed serious, as reportedall cattle: 58.4%
13.1%name doramectinall cattle: 10.3%

FDA's database holds 137 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Limousin", shown here as Limousin: 0.4% of reports about cattle. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, and none in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are doramectin, ivermectin and levamisole. Doramectin is named in 13.1% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all cattle (10.3%).

The terms listed most often are death (33.6%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - lice (10.9%) and recumbency (10.9%). Death appears in 33.6% of reports, about the same share as in all cattle reports (29.4%). 71.4% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 58.4% for cattle overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Limousin reportsShare of all cattle reports
Doramectin1813.1%10.3%
Ivermectin1611.7%6.9%
Levamisole107.3%0.4%
Oxytetracycline107.3%2.1%
Moxidectin96.6%4.2%
Dinoprost Tromethamine85.8%2.9%
Florfenicol75.1%1.6%
Tilmicosin Phosphate75.1%2.6%
Clorsulon + Ivermectin64.4%1%
Eprinomectin64.4%4.8%
Progesterone64.4%1.5%
Monensin53.6%10.8%
Vitamin E42.9%0.8%
Penicillin G Benzathine + Penicillin G Procaine32.2%0.2%
Famphur21.5%0.4%
Fenbendazole21.5%0.7%
Penicillin G Procaine21.5%0.6%
Tulathromycin21.5%7.3%
Xylazine21.5%0.1%
Albendazole10.7%0.9%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Limousin reports listing the termall cattle reports

  1. Death33.6%46
  2. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - lice[the product did not have the expected effect: lice]10.9%15
  3. Recumbency[lying down and unable or unwilling to rise]10.9%15
  4. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]9.5%13
  5. Alopecia NOS[hair loss, type not specified]8%11
  6. Anorexia[not eating]8%11
  7. Collapse7.3%10
  8. Lack of efficacy (bacteria) - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect: target not specified]6.6%9
  9. Ineffective, estrus synchroniz[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (estrus synchroniz)]5.8%8
  10. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]5.1%7
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]5.1%7
  12. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]5.1%7
  13. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]4.4%6
  14. Injection site swelling[swelling where the injection was given]4.4%6
  15. Pruritus[itching]4.4%6
  16. Dyspnoea[difficulty breathing]3.6%5
  17. Dermatitis[inflamed skin]2.9%4
  18. Fever2.9%4
  19. Hypersalivation[drooling]2.9%4
  20. Hind limb paresis[weak hind legs]2.2%3
  21. Infertility NOS[NOS: not otherwise specified]2.2%3
  22. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]2.2%3

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year28.5%39
1 to 3 years19.7%27
4 to 7 years5.8%8
8 to 11 years1.5%2
12 years and over0%0
Age not given44.5%61

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0%0
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0.7%1
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)1.5%2
45 kg and over (99 lb+)68.6%94
Weight not given29.2%40

Coloured bar: Limousin reports. Grey bar: all cattle reports.

Trend and outcomes

011Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal0.7%1
Recovered with Sequela0.7%1
Ongoing0.7%1
Died40.9%56
Euthanized0%0
Outcome Unknown2.2%3

Beside all cattle

MeasureLimousinAll cattle
Reports13731,229
Latest 12 months0644
Classed serious, of reports stating it71.4%58.4%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports408.8368

Questions about Limousin reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Limousins?

137 reports through March 2026, 0.4% of reports about cattle; 0 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Limousin reports?

By active ingredient: doramectin (18), ivermectin (16), levamisole (10), oxytetracycline (10) and moxidectin (9). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

death (33.6%), lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - lice (10.9%), recumbency (10.9%), anaphylaxis (9.5%) and alopecia NOS (8%).

Is the Limousin more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Limousin animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Limousin" becomes "Limousin"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.